Officials identify three winners in the 2010 Nenana Ice Classic

May 5, 2010 

TANANA RIVER -- Nenana Ice Classic officials said three Alaskans correctly guessed when the ice would go out this year on the Tanana River.

The winners were identified Wednesday as Donna Smith of Palmer, Chris Arnold of Indian and Alison Foley of Fairbanks. They each will receive $93,010, their share of the $279,030 jackpot.

Ice Classic manager Cherrie Forness said more than 234,000 entries were double-checked to make sure there were no other winners.

The Tanana River ice officially went out at 9:06 a.m. on April 29 when a tripod on the ice floated downstream and the clock in Alaska's richest guessing game stopped.

Last year, the ice went out at 8:41 p.m. on May 1. Two winners guessed the correct time and shared a $283,723 jackpot.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service