24 mushers will compete in Rondy

Anchorage Daily NewsFebruary 21, 2012 

Bib numbers for the 2012 Fur Rendezvous World Championship Sled Dog Races were drawn Tuesday evening. Poor snow conditions in the Lower 48 and Canada have increased the field this year with eight rookies joining the competition.

The drawing at the Sheraton Hotel was preceded by a moment of silence for Cue Bifelt of Huslia, the winner of the race in 1960, who passed away earlier this week.

The first leg of the three-day race will start at noon Friday downtown. The mushers will leave in the following order:

1. Brent Beck

2. Ken Chezik

3. Jack Berry

4. Mari Wood

5. Jeff Conn

6. Don Cousins

7. Michael Tetzner

8. Arleigh Reynolds

9. Greg Taylor

10. Randy DeKuiper

11. Bill Kornmuller

12. Will Kornmuller

13. Marvin Kokrine

14. Egil Ellis (winner 2005, 2011)

15. Nathan Sterling

16. John Erhart

17. Jon Bunderson (r)

18. Greg Selletin (r)

19. Rob Peebles (r)

20. Kevin Cook (r)

21. Danny Beck (r)

22. Guy Girard (r)

23. Marie-Anick Alie (r)

24. Ron Wordon (r)

(r) indicates rookie

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service