Alaska women named Freedom's Sisters

Anchorage Daily NewsApril 28, 2012 

Twenty Alaska women are being honored as Alaska's Freedom's Sisters for their dedication to social causes and humanitarian efforts. The honor comes from Ford Motor Co., which planned to hold a dinner for the honorees Saturday night. The event is an extension of a national traveling exhibition sponsored by the Ford Motor Company Fund. The exhibition features 20 African-American women prominent in the civil rights movement.

The Alaska women honored are Margo Bellamy, Pearley M. Bingham, Bettye Davis, Andrea Davis-Antoine, Rosa Hobbs Foster, Verna Lee Gibson, Celeste Graham-Hodge, Elvi Gray-Jackson, Beverly Jenkins, Ada Johnson, Alice Jean Lawrence, Dewain L. Lee, Elsie E. "Lois" Lester, Velez Hayes Ransom, Sandra J. Small, Marilyn Stewart-Richardson, Pamela Scott Washington, Cessilye Williams, Delmonicia D. Williams and Deverette Williams.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service