2 reappointed to Arctic commission

August 8, 2012 

Two members of the Arctic Research Commission have been reappointed by President Barack Obama.

U.S. Sen. Mark Begich said Charles J. Vorosmarty and Warren Zapol were appointed to seats designated for researchers or academics.Vorosmarty is a professor of civil engineering at City College of New York. For more than 30 years he was at the University of New Hampshire, working as a research professor for eight years. He has been on the Arctic research commission since 2006.

Zapol is a physician and director of the Anesthesia Center for Critical Care Research at Massachusetts General Hospital. He has been on the research commission since 2008.

The commission was created to establish national policy and goals for basic and applied Arctic scientific research.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service