Feckley, Sauder lead all-state football selections

sports@adn.comOctober 23, 2012 

For three seasons, West quarterback Conor Feckley has thrown the football at a level not often seen in Alaska. Throwing for more than 2,000 yards for the second straight season was good enough to make him the state's offensive player of the year for the first time.

Along with defensive player of the year Dalton Sauder of South, Feckley topped the list of all-state football players announced Monday. Picks were made by the state's large-school coaches.

Palmer's Cole Frohling was voted lineman of the year and East's Jarred Laws was named utility player of the year. Palmer swept the coaching honors, with Rod Christiansen named coach of the year and Keith Armstrong voted assistant coach of the year.

Feckley, a senior, threw for 2,221 yards, 20 touchdowns and five interceptions and rushed for 199 yards and five touchdowns in eight games against Alaskan competition. He led West to at least the semifinals of the state playoffs for the third straight seasons -- West won a state title with Feckley at quarterback in 2010.

If he hadn't missed his final regular-season game this year with an injury, Feckley might have topped his state-record 2,559-yard mark from last season.

Sauder, a hard-hitting senior linebacker, was a driving force behind one of the state's best defenses, helping South claim its second state title in last weekend's 28-19 win over Service.

He helped the Wolverines produce a second-half shutout of a Service team that averaged 36.2 points per game behind the explosive play of senior Amu Aukusitino.

Aukusitino, who accounted for 31 offensive touchdowns in 10 games this season, was the offensive player of the year last season. He was one of three players to make this year's all-stat team at quarterback.

Laws made an impact on both sides of the ball for East, making the all-state team at both receiver and defensive back. The senior made numerous highlight-reel plays on his way to 31 receptions for 493 yards and seven touchdowns.

Frohling anchored the Palmer offensive and defensive lines that nearly led the Moose to an undefeated season. Palmer won its first nine games before suffering its only loss to South in the state semifinals. It was Palmer's 13th straight trip to the playoffs with Christiansen at the helm.

South and Service each produced the most all-state selections with six apiece. Palmer produced five and West, North Pole and West Valley each had four.


All-state football team

Offensive player of the year -- Conor Feckley, West

Defensive player of the year -- Dalton Sauder, South

Lineman of the year -- Cole Frohling, Palmer

Utility player of the year -- Jarred Laws, East

Coach of the year -- Rod Christiansen, Palmer

Assistant coach of the year -- Keith Armstrong, Palmer


Michael Muller-Stubblefield, Service center; Cole Foster, Lathrop guard; Austin Betts, North Pole guard; Ken Pegues, Chugiak tackle; Zach Swartz, North Pole tackle; Cole Frohling, Palmer tackle; Kieran Kuiper, West tackle; Matt Oldenkamp, Chugiak tight end; Hayden Niekamp, Palmer tight end; Louis Page, South tight end; Jarred Laws, East wide receiver; Lance Wright, North Pole wide receiver; Nik Butler, Service wide receiver; Eric Vandervort, West wide receiver; Matthew Rogers, North Pole quarterback; Amu Aukusitino, Service quarterback; Conor Feckley, West quarterback; James Nisbett, Palmer running back; Dante Williams, South running back; Lorenzo Graham, West Valley running back; Jamal Cummings, West Valley fullback.


Aquino Brinson, Juneau defensive back; Jarred Laws, East defensive back; Jeavonte Dunn, Eagle River defensive back; Luke Heun, Palmer defensive back; Matthew Ilalio, Service defensive back; Khalil Autry, South defensive back; Charles Sudduth, West Valley defensive back; Justin Benzel, Chugiak outside linebacker; Armani Tufaga, Dimond outside linebacker; Kendall Scott, Dimond linebacker; Chriss Cooney, Palmer linebacker; Hiapo McCandless, Service linebacker; Dalton Sauder, South linebacker; Tommy Hopp, South linebacker; Nathan Sailele, West linebacker; Ma'o Tosi, East defensive line; Erich Pili, Service defensive line; Jackson Curry, West Valley defensive line.

Specialist positions

Eyob Imlach, South kicker; Dante Washington, Bartlett punter; Hunter Desmond, Lathrop kick returner; Austin Ring, Wasilla long snapper.


Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service