Alabama-Huntsville admitted to WCHA for next season

Posted on January 17, 2013 

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, which will take on a new, watered-down flavor next season, expanded to 10 teams for 2013-14 with today's word that Alabama-Huntsville will join the circuit.

The inclusion of the Chargers, currently an independent team, gives the league an even number of teams for scheduling and does the right thing in that it lends support to a program that has fought to remain a Division I team.

Next fall, here are the 10 WCHA teams -- UAA, UAF, Minnesota State-Mankato, Bemidji State, Michigan Tech, Bowling Green, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Northern Michigan and Alabama-Huntsville.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service