Erhart tops Fur Rondy Open World Championship start list

mdunham@adn.comFebruary 19, 2013 

— Veteran John Erhart will lead off a field of 14 mushers in the 2013 Fur Rendezvous Open World Championship Race starting at noon on Friday. Starting positions were drawn in ceremonies at the new Anchorage City Limits Lofts on Tuesday night.

Fur Rendezvous Open World Championship Race

Start List [last year's finishing position]

1. John Erhart, Tanana [14]

2. Jack Berry, Homer [16]

3. Arleigh Reynolds, Salcha [4]

4. Kevin Cook, Preeceville, Saskatchewan, [2]

5. Marie-Anick Elie, Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada [11]

6. Ken Chezik, Fife Lake, Mich. [1]

7. Brent Beck, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada [7]

8. Robert Worden, Mexico, NY [22]

9. Marvin Kokrine, North Pole [13]

10. John Norris, Willow

11. Nathan Sterling, Willow [12]

12. Egil Ellis, Willow [3] (Champion in 1999, 2000, 2002, 2005 and 2011)

13. Greg Taylor, Fairbanks [5]

14. Greg Sellentin, Willow

Races will take place over three days, Feb. 22-24, with more than $70,000 in prize money going to the winners as determined by the total accumulated time. Each day's race will start and end at 4th Ave. and D St., with a course running 25 miles through Anchorage and into the parkland around the Chugach foothills.

"The track is fantastic," race marshal Janet Clarke said.

The public is invited to join the mushers for breakfast at the Tozier Track clubhouse at 9 a.m. Thursday.

Reach Mike Dunham at or 257-4332.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service