Hanneman skis to third victory at Junior Nationals

sports@adn.comMarch 14, 2013 

Fairbanks' Logan Hanneman continued his successful run at the U.S. Junior National cross-country ski championships Thursday, winning a freestyle sprint race on a brisk, windy day at Birch Hill in Fairbanks.

The win was Hanneman's third this week in the Older Juniors division for ages 18-19. He also won a 10-kilometer freestyle race Monday and anchored the winning relay team in a 3x3.3-kilometer race Tuesday.

Hanneman, a Lathrop High graduate who skis collegiately for UAF, wasn't the only Alaskan to finish first. Anchorage's Lydia Blanchet notched her first victory of the week in the girls Junior II division for ages 14-15. She had been steadily getting closer to victory in the week's first two events, taking fourth in a 5-K freestyle race Tuesday and helping Team Alaska take second in Wednesday's 3x3.3-K relay.

Ben Saxton of the Midwest team has become Hanneman's top rival this week, finishing second in all three events. Saxton posted Thursday's best early qualifying time, but was unable to translate it into a win. Along with being second in Monday's freestyle, Saxton anchored the second-place Midwest effort in Tuesday's relay. He posted a faster final leg than Hanneman, but couldn't overcome Team Alaska's sizeable lead.

Anchorage's Stephanie Kirk and Jake Basset each bagged second-place finishes Thursday, Kirk doing so in the girls Older Juniors division and Bassett in the boys Junior II division. Just behind Kirk in the girls Older Juniors race was Anchorage's Celia Haering in third place.

Anchorage's Forrest Mahlen and Thomas O'Harra also produced third-place finishes, Mahlen in the boys Older Juniors division and O'Harra in the boys Junior I divsion for ages 16-17.

U.S. Junior Nationals

Birch Hill, Fairbanks

Thursday's sprint results


Older Junior (ages 18-19) A-final -- 1) Logan Hanneman, UAF; 2) Benjamin Saxton, F.A.S.T Performance; 3) Forrest Mahlen, APU; 4) Patrick McElravey, Auburn Ski Club; 5) Charlie Von Thaden, University of Colora; 6) Tucker McCrerey, University of Utah. B-final -- 7) Eli Hoenig, Cambridge Sports; 8) Isaac Lammers, Alaska Nordic Racing; 9) Stefa Hajdukovich, Fairbanks; 10) Vanya Rybkin, Fairbanks; 11) Max Scrimgeour; 12) Kyle Hanson, Fairbanks.

Junior I (ages 16-17) A-final -- 1) Mattis Stenshagen, NTG Lillehammer; 2) Sjur Slettom, NTG Lillehammer; 3) Thomas O'Harra, APU; 4) Martin Thon, NTG Lillehammer; 5) Jack Schrupp, Gunstock Ski Club; 6) Cal Deline, Ski and Snowboard Club. B-final -- 7) Keegan Swirbul, Aspen Valley; 8) Henry Gorman, Wasatch Nordic Ski; 9) Karsten Hokanson, Wasatch Nordic Ski; 10) Gavin Hess, Rochester Nordic; 11) Sam Miller, Bridger Ski Foundation; 12) Sam Merrens, Ford Sayre Ski Club.

Junior II (ages 14-15) A-final -- 1) Koby Gordon, Stratton Mountain; 2) Jake Bassett, Alaska Winter Stars; 3) Henry Harmeyer, Nordic Mansfield; 4) Henry Trowbridge, Summit Nordic; 5) Logan Diekmann, Bridger Ski Foundation; 6) Dylan Syben, Unleashed Coaching. B-final -- 7) Max Donaldson, Fairbanks; 8) Gavin McEwen, Cambridge Sports; 9) Bill Harmeyer, Mansfield Nordic; 10) Zak Ketterson, Loppet Nordic Racing; 11) Conner Truskowski, APU; 12) Tracen Knopp, Alaska Nordic Racing.


Older Junior (ages 18-19) A-final -- 1) Felicia Gesior; 2) Stephanie Kirk, Alaska Winter Stars; 3) Celia Haering, APU; 4) Cambri McDermott; 5) Tristin Lowe, Bridger Ski Foundation; 6) Bree Mucha, Alaska Nordic Racing. B-final -- 7) Nicolette Reker, Sisu Nordic Ski Foundation; 8) Maddy Pfeifer, Green Mountain; 9) Teagan Yutrzenka, Alaska Winter Stars; 10) Hannah Boyer, Fairbanks; 11) Jesse Knori, Sun Valley Ski; 12) Tsaina Mahlen, Alaska Pacific University.

Junior I (ages 16-17) A-final -- 1) Annika Miller, Payette Lakes Sport; 2) Tiril Weng, NTG Lillehammer; 3) Lotta Went, NTG Lillehammer; 4) Lisa Kvamme, NTG Lillehammer; 5) Marion Woods, Alaska Winter Stars; 6) Zoe Snow, Cambridge Sports. B-final -- 7) Heidi Halverson, Green Mountain; 8) Kaley Shagen, Lopped Nordic Racing; 9) Maddison Keeffe, Steamboat Springs; 10) Taryn Hunt-Smith, APU; 11) Lizzie Gill, Bridger Ski Foundation; 12) Brenna Egan, UOP Sport Clubs.

Junior II (ages 14-15) A-final -- 1) Lydia Blanchet, APU; 2) Julia Kern, Cambridge Sports; 3) Hannah Halvorsen, Sugar Bowl Academy; 4) Leah Lange, UOP Sports Clubs; 5) Katharine Ogden, Stratton Mountain; 6) Sofia Shomento, Bridger Ski Foundation. B-final -- 7) Racquel Wohlk, Sisu Nordic Ski Foundation; 8) Hailey Swirbul, Aspen Valley Ski; 9) Taeler McCrerey, Summit Nordic; 10) Katy Bonacci, The Utah Nordic All-stars; 11) Hannah Rudd, Loppet Nordic Racing; 12) Ana Jager, APU.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service