Lawer appointed bank president

Posted on May 8, 2013 

Betsy Lawer


First National Bank Alaska Board of Directors appointed Betsy Lawer President of Alaska’s largest locally owned bank during its annual organizational meeting May 1, 2013. Lawer retains her board position as Vice Chair, a position she has held since 1992. D.H. Cuddy retains his position as Chairman of the Board of Directors.
Lawer joined the bank in 1974. During her 39-year career with the bank, she has worked in all areas of the bank including Commercial Lending, Investor Loan Production, Bank Operations, Electronic Data Processing, Marketing and Loan Documentation.
In service to her community, Lawer serves as a member of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Board of Directors, the University of Alaska Foundation Board of Trustees, the Smithsonian National board and the President’s Community Panel of the Alyeska Pipeline Service Company. She also serves as Director Emeritus of the Providence Health Care Foundation.
Lawer, born and raised in Anchorage, earned her B. A. in Economics from Duke University. She was named U.S. Banker 25 Women to Watch in 2003 and Top 25 Most Powerful People in Alaska, 1999 – 2003. She received the ATHENA Award in 2001, the Soroptimist International Women Helping Women Award in 1998, and an Alaska State Legislature Commendation in 1997 and 2007.
Alaskan-owned and operated since 1922, First National proudly meets the financial needs of Alaskans with ATMs and 30 branches in 18 communities throughout the state. Forbes named the bank one the nation's Top 100 Most Trustworthy Companies in 2012 and 2013. Visit for more information about Alaska's largest locally-owned bank and access to efficient and secure online banking services.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service