Greg Hobson leads the Alaska contingent at the World Series of Poker

sports@adn.comJune 13, 2013 

— One-third of the way through the annual World Series of Poker in Las Vegas, at least nine Alaskans have won money in the nearly two-month tournament that features 61 different events and represents the game's most prestigious and lucrative gathering.

Greg Hobson of Anchorage, who last year bagged the coveted bracelet awarded to each event winner -- he also collected $256,691 for winning an event -- has cashed twice in this year's event at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino for a total of $18,925. Hobson finished 11th out of 1,069 players in a No-Limit Hold 'em--Six Handed tournament to earn $15,643. He also won $3,182 for his 143rd-place finish in a No-Limit Hold 'em event that drew $2,105 entrants.

Both events in which Hobson cashed required a $1,500 entry fee, or buy-in.

Jeremiah Keeney of Fairbanks earned $9,543 for his 33rd-place finish in a No-Limit Hold 'em--Six Handed event that featured a $2,500 buy-in and attracted 924 players.

John Zipperer of Wasilla nearly matched Keeney's haul, collecting $9,160 for his 13th-place finish in a Limit Hold 'em event that included a $1,500 buy-in and generated a field of 645 entries.

Anchorage Charles Clark pocketed $6,784 for his 41st-place finish in a $1,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold 'em event that pulled in 2,071 players.

Other Alaskans who have cashed this year are Jason Baer of Anchorage ($2,898); David Nguyen of Nome ($2,740); William Carlton of Anchorage and James Kopcha of Anchorage ($2,600 each); and Lisa Vukasin of Anchorage ($2,033).

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service