Schirack crushes Equinox ultramarathon record

sports@adn.comSeptember 24, 2013 

A.J. Schirack of Fairbanks shattered the ultramarathon record in Saturday's Equinox Marathon in Fairbanks, slicing 24 minutes off the previous best time in the 40-mile race.

Schirack clocked a time of 5 hours, 12 minutes, 9.8 seconds to wipe out the record of 5:36:02.7 set last year by Ivaylo Benov.

Schirack finished 35 minutes ahead of runnerup David Johnston of Willow (5:47:04.8).

The women's victory went to Shawn McTaggart in 6:05:21.9.

In the relay race, the team of Devin McDowell, Allan Spangler and Bryant Wright combined for a winning time of 2:51:48.9 on the 26.2-mile marathon course.

The top all-women's team -- Nellie Ballou, Krista Heeringa and Laura Brosius -- was third overall in 3:25:53.7.

Marathon wins went to David McKay of Iowa City, Iowa (2:49:21.7) and Christy Marvin of Palmer (3:21:34.1).

Equinox Marathon

40-mile ultramarathon

Women -- 1) Shawn McTaggart, 6:05:21.9; 2) Anna Worden, 6:39:49.0; 3) Laura Mcdonough, 6:45:51.7; 4) Tina Devine, 7:29:32.9; 5) Sarah Gordee, 7:45:34.6; 6) Carole Holley, 8:10:29.6.

Men (top 10) -- 1. A.J. Schirack, 5:12:09.8; 2) David Johnston, 5:47:04.8; 3) Ron Koczaja, 6:03:19.9; 4) Rob Adair, 6:09:38.1; 5) Gary Holton, 6:20:23.6; 6) Mark Kowal, 6:38:09.7; 7) John Shook, 6:50:29.1; 8) Jeff Woody, 6:53:07.5; 9) Christopher Redfox Ii, 6:54:35.3; 10) Tony Covarrubias, 6:56:10.3.


1. Squirrels 2:51:48.9 (Devin McDowell 50:18.8, Allan Spangler 1:04:28.2, Bryant Wright 57:01.8); 2) Reverse Apache Masters 3:13:55 (Thomas Coolidge, Jim Button, Brian Haviland) 3:13:55.0; 3) Baby Cakes 3:25:53.7 (Nellie Ballou, Krista Heeringa, Laura Brosius); 4) Tutu Far 3:26:48.8 (Taryn Lopez, Heather Best, Molly Yazwinski); 5) PHDs 3:30:29.3 (Dan Powers, Charles Parr, Nick Konefal).

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service