UAA's McKillop earns first college skiing victory

AnchorageDecember 11, 2013 

UAA freshman skier Curtis McKillop began his college racing career with a victory Wednesday in a men’s slalom in the Alaska Best Water December FIS series at Alyeska Ski Resort, where teammate Vanessa Berther bagged a win in a women’s race.  

McKillop trailed Patrick Romano of the Far West division by nearly a second after the first of two runs on firm snow, but won the second run convincingly to secure the victory by .62 seconds. McKillop’s completed the two runs in 1 minute, 23.7 seconds.  

Berther, a junior, put together a strong first run in the women’s race, but still trailed the Far West’s Madeline Johnson by .09 seconds. Berther blew Johnson away on the second course, posting a two-run time of 1:32.17 to win by more than 1.5 seconds. 

Racing continues with slaloms Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Larger fields are expected in the remaining races when the full UAA team participates.   


Alaska Best Water December FIS series

Wednesday’s slalom (two-run combined times)

Men — 1) Curtis McKillop, 1:23.70; 2) Patrick Romano, 1:24.32; 3) Trent Balin, 1:28.36; 4) Sean O’Rourke, 1:34.18; 5) Peter Spangler, 1:38.94; 6) Michael Ferri, 1:39.31; 7) William Ingrim, 1:50.04; 8) Jim Henderson, 1:52.01. 

Women — 1) Vanessa Berther, 1:32.17; 2) Madeline Johnson, 1:33.63; 3) Sarah Powell, 1:35.90; 4) Nicole Ritchie, 1:35.92; 5) Sarah Lundgren, 1:38.29; 6) Leika Scott, 1:43.10; 7) Meghan McCormack, 1:43.71; 8) Heather Desino, 1:48.18; 9) Liz Mutina, 1:48.69; 10) Jennifer Rowland, 1:50.27; 11) Erin Buckland, 1:50.49; 12) Lee Foden, 1:51.94; Manya Montanelli, 1:57.96. 


Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service