Women's slalom ends in tie at FIS event at Alyeska Ski Resort

sports@adn.comDecember 13, 2013 

Sierra Ryder, a U18 from Far West, blinks during her first run in Friday's FIS slalom at Alyeska. She had the fastest ladies' run on the second course and finished tied for first place overall.


There were three first-place finishers in two slalom races Friday at Alyeska Ski Resort, where UAA's Victoria McVicker tied for first with Sierra Ryder of the Far West in a women's race and UAA's Cedrik Gagnon won a men's race at the Alaska Best Water December FIS series.

McVicker and Ryder both had to come from behind in the two-run event. McVicker was in third and Ryder was in fifth after the first run, but Ryder posted the fastest time in the second run to pull even with McVicker, who posted the second-fastest time in the second run. They both finished with a two-run combined time of 1 minute, 55.71 seconds. Sarah Powell of the Alyeska Ski Club was third at 1:59.28.

Gagnon wasn't gonna share his victory. He trailed UAA teammate Hughston Norton by .2 seconds after the first run, but blazed through the second run in 50.29 to post a two-run time of 1:40.75, more than a half second ahead of Norton. UAA's James Schindler was about a half second behind Norton, in third.

Around six inches of dry snow fell across Alyeska on Friday, but the race conditions remained icy and predictable. Coaches, juniors and volunteers worked hard to maintain an ideal racing surface.

The final race in the four-race series begins Saturday at 11 a.m. on Alyeska's lower race trail.

Alaska Best Water December FIS series

Friday's slalom results (two-run combined time)

Women -- 1) (tie) Victoria McVicker; Sierra Ryder, 1:55.71; 3) Sarah Powell, 1:59.28; 4) Miranda Sheely, 2:01.14; 5) Leika Scott, 2:02.69; 6) Meghan McCormack, 2:03.54; 7) Madeline Johnson, 2:03.75; 8) Sarah Lundgren, 2:04.61; 9) Jennifer Rowland, 2:11.07; 10) Liz Mutina, 2:11.99; 11) Hannah Ingrim, 2:20.20. 12) Manya Montanelli, 2:22.22.

Men -- 1) Cedrik Gagnon, 1:40.75; 2) Hughston Norton, 1:41.30; 3) James Schindler, 1:41.79; 4) Curtis McKillop, 1:42.73; 5) Niko Harmanen, 1:43.03; 6) Michael FRerri, 1:44.78; 7) Kei Kullberg, 1:45.05; 8) Patrick Romano, 1:46.51; 9) Trent Balin, 1:47.27; 10) Peter Spangler, 1:47.43; 11) Jonathan Schwartz, 1:49.74; 12) Graeme Price, 1:52.02; 13) Sean O'rourke, 1:53.50; 14) Cameron Heald, 1:59.28; 15) Tommaso Auerbach, 2:05.18.


Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service