UAA lands 4 on WCHA Scholar-Athlete Team

Posted by DOYLE WOODY, on February 13, 2014 

Senior center Matt Bailey isn't just the UAA hockey team's top goal scorer and point producer, but he's a three-time member of the WCHA Scholar-Athlete Team -- that was announced today -- and headlines the four Seawolves who made the squad.

Joining Bailey on the team were teammates Austin Sevalrud and Blake Tatchell, a pair of sophomores, and Michael Matyas, a red-shirt freshman.

To qualify, a player must have been at his current school for at least one academic year, must have a 3.5 grade-point average or better in the previous two semesters of three quarters, or an overall GPA of 3.5 or better. 

UAF landed seven guys on the team -- Sean Cahill, Trevor Campbell, Matt Friese of Wasilla, Nolan Huysmans, Colton Parayko, John Keeney and Garrick Perry.

Also, Bemidji State women's player Whitney Wivoda of Fairbanks made the team for the second time.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service