Fourteen legislators will run unopposed

Fourteen incumbent Alaska legislators will win re-election without a fight, because not a single challenger filed to take them on in this year's election. The deadline for candidates to file with the state elections division was June 1. Running for re-election unopposed in the state Senate are: Juneau Democrat Dennis Egan, Bethel Democrat Lyman Hoffman, North Pole Republican John Coghill, Wasilla Republican Charlie Huggins and Kodiak Republican Gary Stevens.

Those without any election challengers in the state House: Juneau Democrat Beth Kerttula, Anchorage Democrat Sharon Cissna, Anchorage Democrat Les Gara, Dillingham Democrat Bryce Edgmon, Bethel Democrat Bob Herron, Kotzebue Democrat Reggie Joule, Juneau Republican Cathy Munoz, Wasilla Republican Wes Keller, and Eagle River Republican Anna Fairclough.

Anchorage Daily News /