AFN names award winners at convention

MARC LESTER / Anchorage Daily News

Here is the full list of award winners from this year's Alaska Federation of Natives convention in Anchorage this past week.

Citizen of the year: Rosita Worl, vice chairwoman of Sealaska Corp. and president of the Sealaska Heritage Institute.

Denali award (for a non-Native): John Katz, outgoing director for the governor's office in Washington, D.C.

Culture bearer: Tlingit and Haida weaver Della Mae Cheney, originally from Kake and now living in Douglas.

Della Keats "healing hands": Sarah Smith, a tribal doctor at Southcentral Foundation. She is originally from Old Harbor on Kodiak Island and now lives in Anchorage

Eileen Panigeo MacLean education: Agatha John-Shields. Originally from Toksook Bay, she now lives in Anchorage. She is an assistant professor of education leadership and co-director of the Consortium of Alaska Native Leadership Engagement and Development at the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Elder of the year: Chief Paul Williams of Fort Yukon. Williams was born in Salmon Village near Chalkyitsik. He served as chief of the Venetie Reservations for 10 years and as the second chief for 22 years.

Glenn Godfrey law enforcement: Alaska Commissioner of Public Safety Joseph "Nashalook" Masters.

Health: Loretta Throop of Anchorage, Southcentral Foundation board member. She is originally from Ninilchik.

Hunter-fisher: Thomas and Edith Pungalik of Noorvik. He is an avid hunter, she is a traditional sewer, and both of them teach their skills.

Lu Young youth leadership: Teressa Baldwin, founder of Hope4Alaska, a nonprofit focused on suicide prevention. Born in rural Alaska, she now lives in Palmer.

Parents of the year: David and Teresa Ulroan of Chevak. They have raised five children with Cup'ik, western and spiritual values. They help other couples in marriage preparation.

Public service: Gilbert Truitt. Born and raised in Sitka, he served his community for 34 years as teacher, basketball coach, athletic director, administrator and principal.

Roger Lang youth leadership: Peter Squartsoff of Port Lions. He learned much of the Alutiiq language and instructed classmates. He is now Alutiiq language assistant for the Native Village of Port Lions.

Small business: Raymond Michael May of Kodiak, who was raised in Port Lions. May owns Kodiak Island Storage and has two successful fishing vessels.

Find more on each winner plus a list of nominees at