AD Main Menu

Another title for Utah in alpine skiing

Top-ranked Utah held off a hot Denver team on the final day of competition to claim its second NCAA team triumph in a week, while UAA skiers struggled in the rain Saturday in Girdwood to slip from third place to fifth place in the Seawolf Invitational. The meet was one of two hosted last week by the Seawolves. Utah also won the UAA Invitational, which wrapped up Friday.

Denver swept the individual slalom titles Saturday at Alyeska Ski Resort, with Sterling Grant taking the women's crown and Trevor Philp winning the men's race.

That helped Denver place second in the team standings with 806 points, just 52 off Utah's winning total of 858. UAA scored 693. The meet featured alpine racing at Alyeska and nordic racing at Kincaid Park.

UAA's Niko Harmanen placed 10th among college racers in Saturday's slalom lead the Seawolves. In the women's race, six UAA skiers finished between 22nd and 31st place, with Kayla Hoog-Fry leading the way.

The top finish by an Alaskan came from Girdwood's Charles Christianson, a West Region skier who placed fourth. Christianson, 27, was a four-time NCAA All-American at Williams College and got his first World Cup start earlier this season.

Seawolf Invitational

Final team scores --Utah 858, Denver 806, Colorado 775, New Mexico 769, UAA 693, Montana State 690.

Saturday's results at Alyeska

Women's slalom

Top 10

1) Sterling Grant, Denver, 1:24.36; 2) Anna Kocken, Utah, 1:24.58; 3) Julie Bordeau, Utah, 1:24.90; 4) Stefanie Demetz, UNM, 1:24.96; 5) Devin Delaney, Denver, 1:24.97; 6) Carolina Nordh, Colorado, 1:25.26; 7) Maria Camilla Fraschini, Westminster, 1:25.29; 8) Katie Hartman, Colorado, 1:25.67; 9) Erika Ghent, Colorado, 1:25.82; 10) Shane McLean, Colorado, 1:25.85.

UAA finishers -- 22) Kayla Hoog-Fry 1:28.49; 24) Alex Parker 1:28.70; 26) Anna Berecz 1:29.53; 29) Taylor Guetschow 1:31.27; 30) Ida Steien Bjerka 1:33.51; 31) Sandra MacDonald 1:33.66.

Men's slalom

Top 10

1) Trevor Philp, Denver, 1:24.49; 2) Espen Lysdahl, Denver, 1:25.02; 3) Joonas Rasanen, UNM, 1:25.38; 4) Charles Christianson, West Region, 1:25.45; 5) Torjus Krogdahl, Utah, 1:25.56; 6) Petter Brenna, WMC, 1:25.66; 7) Christopher Acosta, UNM, 1:25.84; 8) Luke Laidlaw, Denver, 1:25.97; 9) Armin Triendl, UNM, 1:26.35; 10) Nick Cohee, Utah, 1:26.43.

UAA finishers -- 11) Niko Harmanen 1:26.81; 41) Andreas Adde 1:50.78; 44) Christopher Kollenborg 1:59.35.

Anchorage Daily News /