AD Main Menu

All-stars will play two

Some of the state's best basketball players will be busy this week playing in two Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches senior all-star games.

Soldotna High will host the first games Thursday, and the second ones will be at Grace Christian School in Anchorage on Saturday. The all stars will be divided into two teams of 12 girls and two teams of 12 boys.

The Anchorage games are set for 5 p.m. (girls) and 7 p.m. (boys).

Highlighting the list of 48 seniors are Wasilla's Alyssa Hutchins and Connor Devine, who both won Player of the Year honors in Class 4A. Hutchins was instrumental in the Wasilla girls' second straight Class 4A state title and the 6-foot-10 Devine helped the Wasilla boys to a third-place finish at state.

AABC all-stars


1) Savanna James, Houston; 2) Jenna Buchanan, Galena; 3) Brianna Kirk, Noatak; 4) Saige Stefanski, Colony; 5) Alyssa Hutchins, Wasilla; 6) Pherriar Brumbaugh, Wasilla; 7) Kandice Carroll, Ft. Yukon; 8) Morgan Wensley, Kenai; 9) Wenda Poleo, East; 10) Cheryl Nidoy, West; 11) Melissa Castle, Craig; 12) Kristin Smeaton, Dillingham; 13) Dessirrea Kenworth, Kotzebue; 14) Caitlin Auble, Valdez; 15) Abbie Koenig, Point Hope; 16) Tina Esbenshade, Yakutat; 17) Meg Berry, Seward; 18) Kira Polk, Bethel; 19) Kasara Brandenburg, Palmer; 20) Caroline Long, Point Hope; 21) Echo Winfrey, Hutchinson; 22) Sierra Pedersen, Su Valley; 23) Hannah Wing, Haines; 24) Amey Messerschmidt, Haines.


1) Colter Lasher, Dimond; 2) Luke Adams, Dimond ; 3) Treshawn King-Dunbar, Bartlett; 4) Trenton Anthony, Bartlett; 5) Braydon Kuiper, Wasilla; 6) Connor Devine, Wasilla; 7) TonyYadao, Juneau; 8) Evan Withrow, Soldotna; 9) Scott Kramer, Houston; 10) Chris Parker, Eagle River; 11) Farimang Touray, Service; 12) John Michaels, Monroe Catholic; 13) LaDarius Milton, Monroe Catholic; 14) Colton Anderson, Nikiski; 15) Colin Long, Barrow; 16) Jared Straight, Palmer; 17) Tyler Swinton, Haines; 18) Bo Reilly; Kenai; 19) Jared Miller, Dillingham; 20) Nathan Hadley, Buckland; 21) Chance Hunter, Scammon Bay; 22) Edward Benson, Barrow; 23) Dylan Ferro, Wasilla; 24) Phillip Pease, Houston.