Alaska women named Freedom's Sisters

Twenty Alaska women are being honored as Alaska's Freedom's Sisters for their dedication to social causes and humanitarian efforts. The honor comes from Ford Motor Co., which planned to hold a dinner for the honorees Saturday night. The event is an extension of a national traveling exhibition sponsored by the Ford Motor Company Fund. The exhibition features 20 African-American women prominent in the civil rights movement.

The Alaska women honored are Margo Bellamy, Pearley M. Bingham, Bettye Davis, Andrea Davis-Antoine, Rosa Hobbs Foster, Verna Lee Gibson, Celeste Graham-Hodge, Elvi Gray-Jackson, Beverly Jenkins, Ada Johnson, Alice Jean Lawrence, Dewain L. Lee, Elsie E. "Lois" Lester, Velez Hayes Ransom, Sandra J. Small, Marilyn Stewart-Richardson, Pamela Scott Washington, Cessilye Williams, Delmonicia D. Williams and Deverette Williams.

Anchorage Daily News