Woodward leads list of Rasmuson award recipients

Mike Dunham
Frank Flavin Photography

The Rasmuson Foundation announced awards to 37 Alaska artists on Tuesday. Painter and art historian Kesler Woodward of Fairbanks received the 2012 Distinguished Artist Award, which includes an unrestricted grant of $25,000.

Woodward was the Curator of Visual Arts at the Alaska State Museum in Juneau and artistic director at the Visual Arts Center of Alaska in Anchorage before moving to Fairbanks in 1981. He taught at the University of Alaska Fairbanks for more than 20 years and retired from teaching in 2000 to devote himself to painting full time. He has curated several exhibits of Alaska art and authored eight books on the topic.

This is the ninth year of the Individual Artist Awards program, and as of today, the program has awarded 267 grants, totaling $1.9 million, directly to Alaska artists.

Ten Artist Fellowships, worth up to $12,000 each, were awarded from a field of 305 applications determined by a national panel. Recipients are:

Laura Bliss-Spaan, filmmaker, Anchorage

Jack Dalton, storyteller and playwright, Anchorage

Brendan Harrington, artist and photographer, Kodiak

Tommy Joseph, artist and totem maker, Sitka

Da-ka-xeen Mehner, artist, Fairbanks

Karina Moeller, composer, Anchorage

Phillip Munger, composer, Wasilla

Kat Tomka , artist, Anchorage

Sonya Kelliher-Combs, artist, Anchorage

Morris Palter, percussionist, Fairbanks

Twenty-six project grants of up to $5,000 each were awarded to:

Karrie Pavish Anderson, singer/songwriter, Galena

Beth Blankenship, crafter, Anchorage

Slavik Boyechko, filmmaker, Anchorage

Melina Draper, poet, Fairbanks

Ashley DuRoss, artist, Petersburg

David Gerard, folk artist, Homer

Ronald Klein, photographer, Juneau

George Kuhar, filmmaker and musician, Juneau

Kristin Elizabeth Link, artist, McCarthy

Enzina Marrari, artist, Anchorage

Andrew Michael, artist and mask-maker, Anchorage

Maria Nicolai, artist, Bethel

Tracy Opeim, folk artist, Kodiak

Cinthia Ritchie, writer, Anchorage

Timothy Robb, composer, Tenderfoot Hill

Mattox Roesch, writer, Unalakleet

Lucas Rowley, playwright, Anchorage

Mark Tetpon, crafter, Anchorage

David Walker, woodworker, Juneau

Allison Warden, performance artist, Anchorage

Teague Whalen, composer, Ketchikan

Theresa Woldstad, traditional artist, North Pole

Roblin Davis, actor and playwright, Juneau

Meagan Mackey, singer/songwriter, Anchorage

Adam Ottavi Schiesl, photographer, Ester

Richard Eissler, photographer, Soldotna

Reach Mike Dunham at mdunham@adn.com or 257-4332.

Anchorage Daily News