East softball players top All-CIC team

After a dominant season that led to a state high school softball championship last weekend, it comes as no surprise that East led all Cook Inlet Conference teams with five players named to the all-conference team. Sydney Smith led the way, winning Player of the Year. Erika and Gabby Meyerson joined Smith, along with Taria Page and Morgan Hill in representing the Thunderbirds. West, led by Alaska Gatorade player of the year Pauline Tufi, and Chugiak each put three players on the list.

Cook Inlet All-Conference Softball team

Player of the Year -- Sydney Smith, East.

Erika Meyerson, East; Gabby Meyerson, East; Taria Page, East; Morgan Hill, East; Pauline Tufi, West; Nikki Olsen, West; Jamie Bingham, West; Taylor Bakker, Chugiak; Darion Gobert, Chugiak; Trace Haken, Chugiak; Cheyenne Fausett, South; Rachel Eytalis, South; Stephanie Compton, Service; Lisa Hawkins, Service; Kala Jenkins, Dimond; Heather Breslin, Bartlett; Sarah Payton, Eagle River.