Rash wins an ESPY

Chalk up another triumph for Anchorage bowler Sean Rash.

Rash, who earlier this year earned the title of PBA Bowler of the Year as the sport's top professional player, picked up an ESPY Award on Tuesday.

Rash beat Jason Belmonte and Mike Fagan for the award, presented in Los Angeles by ESPN during a nationally televised ceremony.

Rash is the first Alaskan to win an ESPY, presented annually to the top stars in a variety of sports. Four-time Iditarod champion Lance Mackey is a past nominee.

Winners at the 20th annual ESPY Awards presented Wednesday:

Male Athlete: LeBron James, Miami Heat

Female Athlete: Brittney Griner, Baylor basketball

Team: Miami Heat

Coach-Manager: Tom Coughlin, New York Giants

Breakthrough Athlete: Jeremy Lin, New York Knicks

Game: San Francisco 49ers vs. New Orleans Saints

Record-breaking Performance: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

Championship Performance: LeBron James, Miami Heat

Play: Christian Watford's buzzer-beating basket for Indiana win against Kentucky

Moment: Tim Tebow pass to Demaryius Thomas, AFC wild card game

Upset: Los Angeles Kings win Stanley Cup as eighth seed

Male College Athlete: Robert Griffin III, Baylor football

Female College Athlete: Brittney Griner, Baylor basketball

Male Action Sport Athlete: Shaun White, skateboarding-snowboading

Female Action Sport Athlete: Jamie Anderson, snowboarding

Baseball Player: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers

NBA Player: LeBron James, Miami Heat

WNBA Player: Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury

NFL Player: Aaron Rogers, Green Bay Packers

NHL Player: Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

MLS Player: David Beckham, Los Angeles Galaxy

Bowler: Sean Rash

Driver: Tony Stewart

Fighter: Floyd Mayweather

Male Golfer: Bubba Watson

Female Golfer: Christie Kerr

Jockey: Mario Gutierrez

Male Tennis Player: Novak Djokovic

Female Tennis Player: Maria Sharapova

Track and Field Athlete: Walter Dix

International athlete: Lionel Messi

Male Athlete with a Disability: Kyle Maynard, climbing

Female Athlete with a Disability: Jessica Long, swimming

Comeback: Matthew Stafford, Detroit Lions

College Athletic Program: Stanford women's athletics and Florida men's athletics

Arthur Ashe Courage Award: Pat Summitt

Jimmy V ESPY for Perserverance: Eric LeGrand

Legion baseball

Dimond 21, West 14

Led by Sagan Osborne's five RBIs, Dimond Post 21 stormed to a 21-14 victory over West Post 1 in an American Legion baseball game at Chad Bax Field on Tuesday.

Payton Lauwers and Jordan Clevenger each drove in two runs for Dimond, and Mitchell McCoy notched four hits to with two runs.

L.J. Felix led West with three RBIs and three runs, with Jacob Hilowitz and Dalton Gantner-Chapman each adding two hits and two runs.

Anchorage Daily News