Palmer Moose football players dominate Railbelt's all-conference team

Palmer dominates all-conference team

Conference champion Palmer dominated the All-Railbelt Conference selections announced Thursday night. Led by lineman of the year Cole Frohling and utility player of the year Luke Heun, eight Moose were first-team picks.

The Moose also swept the coaching awards -- Rod Christiansen was named coach of the year and Keith Armstrong was voted assistant coach of the year.

North Pole quarterback Matthew Rogers was voted offensive player of the year, topping a group of seven Patriots to make first team. West Valley's six first-team picks included defensive player of the year Charles Sudduth.


Railbelt Conference football team

Individual awards

Offensive player of the year -- Matthew Rogers, North Pole. Defensive player of the year -- Charles Sudduth, West Valley. Lineman of the year -- Cole Frohling, Palmer. .Utility player of the year -- Luke Heun, Palmer. Coach of the year -- Rod Christiansen, Palmer. Assistant coach of the year -- Keith Armstrong, Palmer.

First team

Palmer -- James Nisbett, running back; Cole Frohling, offensive tackle; Luke Heun, defensive back; Ben Aumavae, linebacker; Chris Cooney, linebacker; Cameron Christiansen, quarterback; Dylan Myers, defensive back; Hayden Niekamp, tight end. North Pole -- Matthew Rogers, quarterback; Lance Wright, wide receiver; Zach Swartz, offensive tackle; Aaron Betts, offensive guard; Keenan Alexander, offensive tackle; Lane Bonham, strong safety; Ray Johnson, strong safety. West Valley -- Lorenzo Graham, running back; James Clawson, defensive tackle; Jamal Cummings, full back; Charles Sudduth, cornerback; Mason Jeffries, cornerback; Jackson Curry, defensive end. Juneau -- Kristian Petaja, center; Travis Duvernay, offensive tackle; Brian Brassfield, wide receiver; Derik Vance, linebacker; Aquino Brinson, defensive back. Colony -- Robert Lorentz, quarterback; Antonio Bush, wide receiver; Daniel Bilafer, wide receiver; Austin Rench, linebacker. Lathrop -- Hunter Desmond, linebacker; Kaelan Lee, running back; Cole Foster, offensive line.

Second team

Palmer -- Nick Benshetier, offensive tackle; Lance Cassagranda, center; Vincent Aumavae, defensive back; Masen Swinehart, defensive end; Daniel DeLay, wide receiver; Cole Frohling, defensive line. North Pole -- Garrett Tucker, offensive line; Randle Kimball, center; Matthew Wentland, running back; Jordan Copeland, defensive back; Ray Tamse, tight end; Ryan Wicklund, linebacker. West Valley -- Tucker Plass, quarterback; Patrick West, tackle; Dominick Anderson, running back; Lars Evanger, linebacker; Alex Orozco, defensive tackle; Jordan Kelley, safety. Juneau -- Demetrius Campos, running back; Trevor Pfaff, wide receiver; Billy Palmer, running back; Brenyn Marshall, defensive back; Samson Nauer, defensive back; Dartanan Campos, outside linebacker. Colony -- Nathan Umbarger, defensive end; Ken McCoy, corner back; Sam Tailiai, lineman; Devin Campbell, cornerback; Jeremy Compton-Fayett, defensive end. Lathrop -- Hunter Desmond, wide receiver; Kaelan Lee, defensive back; Gabe Cunningham, quarterback; Chris Seminario, defensive back; Derrick O'Neal, wide receiver.

Specialist positions

Kicker -- Jackson Lehnhart, Juneau; Punter -- Riley Hinz, West Valley; Kick returner -- Hunter Desmond, Lathrop; Long snapper -- Austin Ring, Wasilla.