House Democrats pick proven shepherds

Not much has changed with House Democrats either, except that there are fewer of them. Rep. Beth Kerttula of Juneau will once again be Democratic leader, the caucus announced. Rep. Chris Tuck of Anchorage will be minority whip and Rep. Max Gruenberg of Anchorage returns as floor leader.

Reps. Les Gara of Anchorage and David Guttenberg of Fairbanks will return to the Finance Committee, where they’ll be joined by Rep. Scott Kawasaki, also of Fairbanks.

The caucus said its priorities will be oil taxes that earn “a fair return for Alaskans, reducing energy costs across the state, and ensuring Alaskans have access to top-quality education.”

Anchorage Daily News