Alabama-Huntsville admitted to WCHA for next season

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, which will take on a new, watered-down flavor next season, expanded to 10 teams for 2013-14 with today's word that Alabama-Huntsville will join the circuit.

The inclusion of the Chargers, currently an independent team, gives the league an even number of teams for scheduling and does the right thing in that it lends support to a program that has fought to remain a Division I team.

Next fall, here are the 10 WCHA teams -- UAA, UAF, Minnesota State-Mankato, Bemidji State, Michigan Tech, Bowling Green, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Northern Michigan and Alabama-Huntsville.