Anchorage Assembly and School Board candidates: Filing period opens Friday

Rosemary Shinohara

The filing period for Anchorage Assembly and School Board seats on the April 2 city election ballot begins Friday and continues through Feb. 8.

Six Assembly seats are up including Debbie Ossiander's in Eagle River, Dick Traini's in Midtown, Paul Honeman's in East Anchorage and Jennifer Johnston's in South Anchorage. Both West Anchorage seats are up. One is held by Ernie Hall, and the second is filled by Assembly appointee Cheryl Frasca. Frasca took Harriet Drummond's place when she resigned to take a seat in the state House earlier this month.

School Board seats held by Jeannie Mackie and Don Smith are on the ballot. School Board members are elected on a citywide basis.

Candidate packets are available at

Reach Rosemary Shinohara at or 257-4340.