Wasilla grapplers edge Colony for NLC crown

Behind the strength of five individual champions, Wasilla slipped past Colony to claim the Northern Lights Conference wrestling title Saturday at Palmer High School.

The Warriors finished with an 11-point edge, scoring 368 points to Colony’s 357. Palmer finished third with 316. 

Kenai’s Hope Steffenson, who pinned her opponent in 3 minutes, 26 seconds to win the 106 pound title, was named Most Outstanding Wrester.

Logan Albrecht, Ryker Steiner, Shannon Carpenter, Nate McKimson and Bryce Sterna all won individual titles for the Warriors. Carpenter and McKimson did so by pinning their opponents.  

Simon Root and Sawyer Root claimed wins for Colony, as did Ian MacKenzie.

Mason Cochran, Luke Heun and Brian Thompson won for Palmer.   


Northern Lights Conference championships

Team scores —1) Wasilla, 368; 2) Colony, 357.5; 3) Palmer, 316; 4) Kodiak, 227; 5) Kenai, 105.5; 6) Soldotna, 30.  

Championship matches

98 — Logan Albrecht, Wasilla, d. Bryan McKimson , Wasilla,  4-0.  106 — Hope Steffensen, Kenai, p. Joel Valdez, Kodiak, 3:26.  113 — Andrew Caballa, Kodiak, t.f. Brandon Abbott, Wasilla, 15-0.  120 — Mason Cochran, Palmer, d.  Andrew Shannon, Wasilla, 6-4. 126 — Shannon Carpenter, Wasilla, p. Eddy Burris, Kodiak, 3:18. 132 — Ryker Steiner, Wasilla, d. Spencer Adams, Colony, 6-2. 138 — Ellery Steffensen, Kenai, p. Kamber Lucasm, Colony, 1:14.  145 — Nate McKimson, Wasilla, p. Blake Marks, Wasilla, 1:50. 152 — Bryce Serna, Wasilla, m.d. Hunter Molesky, Palmer, 20-7.  160 — Luke Heun, Palmer, p.  Logan Conway, Colony, 1:13. 170 — Simon Root, Colony, d. Masen Sweinehart, Palmer, 8-3. 182 — Sawyer Root, Colony, d. Caleb Nielsen, Palmer, 6-3.  195 — Kerry Powers, Kodiak, won by injury default over Tucker Bigley, Kodiak.  220 — Ian MacKenzie, Colony, d.  Quace Wright, Wasilla, 3-2.  285 — Brian Thompson, Palmer, d. Cole Frohling, Palmer, 7-3. 

Most outstanding wrestler— Hope Steffenson, Kenai. Coach of the year —Tod Hopkins, Colony.