State hockey begins Thursday

The Dimond Lynx begin defense of their state hockey championship Thursday when they face off with West Valley in the first game of the tournament.


Dimond faces the Wolfpack at noon at Wasilla's Menard Center. Eight teams qualified for the tournament, which wraps up with Saturday's 7:30 p.m. championship game.


The four-team Greatland tournament for small schools runs Friday and Saturday at the Menard Center.


The Lynx are the No. 3 seed from the Cook Inlet Conference and are on the same side of the bracket as the Service Cougars, the No. 2 seed from the CIC after their semifinal upset of the Lynx in last week's CIC tournament. Dimond beat Service in last year's state championship game.


On the other side of the bracket is South, the CIC's top seed. The Wolverines, who play Lathrop at 5 p.m. Thursday, are looking for their first state title since beating Service in the 2011 title game.  

South landed five players on the all-conference team and Steve Belde was named coach of the year. Dimond and East each had four all-conference picks, West and Bartlett each had two and Service, Eagle River, Chugiak and Eagle River each had one.


Rob Larkey of Dimond-West was named the top coach in CIC girls hockey.



Class 4A state hockey tournament

Wasilla's Menard Center

Thursday's first round

Noon -- Dimond vs. West Valley

2:30 -- Service vs. Soldotna

5 p.m. -- South vs. Lathrop

7:30 p.m. -- Wasilla vs. West


Greatland hockey tournament

Wasilla's Menard Center

Friday's first round

12:30 p.m. -- Hutchison vs. Monroe

3 p.m. -- Houston vs. Delta Junction



Cook Inlet Conference

All-conference hockey



Joel Johnson, jr., Bartlett

Kris Tomazevic, jr., Chugiak

Kenny Hausinger, sr., Dimond

Joel Tomuro, sr., Dimond

Lane Bauer, jr., Dimond

Brett Wood, sr., Eagle River

Sam Stinson, soph., East

Steven Butts, sr., East

Andrew Cummings, sr., Service

Steven Orizotti, jr., South

Cameron Klatt, jr., South

Max Osgood, sr., West


Justin Beverlin, jr., East

Mason Rafter, jr., Bartlett

Trevor Geerin, jr., South

Aaron McPheters, soph., South

Steve Gustafson, jr., West

Tyler Andrews, sr., Dimond


Owen Carlsos, sr., East

Nathan Wright, sr., South

Coach of the Year: Steve Belde, South

Academic Award: Service, 3.23 team GPA




Amy Brassard, sr., Service

Kaitlin Miknich, jr., Service

Morgan Newhouse, soph., South

Brandi Muller, sr., West

Allye Brodie, sr., West

Leandra Murray, sr., Dimond


McKenzie Haskins, sr., West

Ivy Weeks, jr., South

Georgianna Hoss, sr., South

Felila Manu, soph., East


Sarah Widmayer, jr., Service

Lillian Lewis, fr., Dimond

Coach of the Year: Rob Larkey, Dimond-West 

Academic Award: Dimond-West, 3.4 team GPA