Monroe, Houston advance to Greatland hockey finale

Monroe and Houston will play for the Greatland state hockey title after each skated to victory in Friday's semifinal action at the Menard Sports Center in Wasilla.

Monroe, a team with only 12 players, beat defending state champion Hutchison 3-1 in a rematch of last season's title game.

Houston cruised to a 6-0 win over Delta Junction to earn its spot in Saturday's finale, which starts at 4:30 p.m.

Monroe used goals from Jacob Hebard, Carson Keys and Kyle Coiley to build a 3-0 lead over Hutchison, which scored late off the stick of Brandon Rustad.

After a scoreless first period, Hebard gave Monroe a 1-0 lead with 4:28 left in the second and Keys deposited another goal less than a minute later. Coiley put the Rams up 3-0 in the third minute of the third period.

Nathaniel Brose notched 16 saves for Monroe, and Hutchison goalie Daniel Slane made 20 saves.

Houston's win was never in doubt -- goals from Cody Lipse and Ahanu Kinney provided a 2-0 lead for the Hawks just 75 seconds in.

Houston's Jon Lovelace made it 3-0 with a second period goal and completed a hat trick with two goals in the final period. Lane Styers also scored for Houston in the third period.

Houston goalie Aaron Allred stopped 13 shots for the shutout, and Delta goalie Mac Alley stopped 18.

Anchorage Daily News