UAA-UAF includes Alumni Game this time around, so mark that calendar!

Courtesy of former UAA blueliner turned pretty damn good mountain runner Todd Bethard comes word that the annual UAA-UAF showdown will have an alumni element this year -- namely, an Alumni Game between former players from both programs.

The game is set for 2 p.m. March 2 at Sullivan Arena -- that's the afternoon of Game 2 of the Governor's Cup at Sullivan Arena between the current UAA and UAF squads.

The public is invited, and donations to the Alumni Association, which like the Blueliners supports UAA hockey, would be greatly appreciated.

Bethard even sent along lineups for the alumni clubs, and it did The Blog's aging heart good to see some familiar old names on both sides (or in the case of Nathan Rocheleau, who will play for UAF, a name familiar to both sides -- our man Nathan, an Anchorage boy, was first a Seawolf, then a Nanook).

In any event, here are lineups for both alumni sides:

UAA -- Mark Filipenko, Todd Bethard, Eric Lawson, Matt Williams, Dean Trboyevich, Matt Shasby, Peter Cartwright, Jeff Edwards, Todd Christianson, Gregg Zaporzan, Mike Scott (the rare retired hockey player who player who probably is still at his playing weight -- argh!), Brian Kraft (easy on the stickwork, Krafty, it's just for fun, not Game 7), Jack Kowal, Jimmy Dahl, Chris Pont (a forward who I understand plays some quality beer-league goalie), Regg Simon (who once painted the walls of The Blog's condo, and quite nicely, and for a reasonable price), Paul Williams, Merit Waldrop and Chris King (a retired goalie who can probably still do the splits).

UAF -- Current Nanooks bench boss Dallas Ferguson, Sandy Imlach, Keith Street (who probably still has sick moves), Ryan Muspratt, Lenny Zaiser, Pat Hallett, Trevor Hyatt (do not compare grade-point averages with him -- you lose), Lou Bassler, John Lovdahl, Dennis Gould, Cody Butcher, Scott McIlroy, Chris Hodges, Efren Larranaga, current UAF assistant coach Corbin Schmidt, Dirk Menard, Wylie Rogers (a Fairbanks boy in goal who LOVED beating UAA), Darren Tiemstra, Nathan Rocheleau, Pat Williams and Andy Pokupec