Center Blake Tatchell dominates UAA hockey awards with MVP and Rookie of Year honors

Freshman center Blake Tatchell, who led UAA in assists and points, and finished tied for second in goals, was honored as its Most Valuable Player and Rookie of the Year at the hockey team's awards banquet Thursday night.

Tatchell earned 9-16--25 totals as the lone freshman to play all 36 Seawolves games, and proved a bright spot in a season that was otherwise largely dark. UAA went just 4-25-7 and finished last in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association for the second straight season.

Tatchell centered the Seawolves' top scoring line and also received extensive power-play time.

He earned his awards in a vote by team members.

Tatchell is the first player to sweep the MVP and Rookie of the Year awards since goaltender Nathan Lawson in 2005. Lawson currently plays in the American Hockey League and has played 10 games in the NHL.

Senior defenseman Scott Warner was voted Most Inspirational Player. He logged heavy ice time -- at even strength, and on the power-play and penalty-killing units -- and blocked shots with abandon. Warner had 3-3--6 totals in 36 games.

Senior center Daniel Naslund, who generated 4-6--10 totals in 35 games, was voted winner of the Corner Man Award. Freshman forward Bobby Murphy (2-2--4 in 27 games) was voted Most Improved Player.

Senior center Tyler Currier, who scored four goals in 36 games and killed penalties, was voted the Leon Thompson Fan Favorite in balloting by fans.

Senior captain Chris Crowell, who owns a team-best 3.69 GPA and is a civil engineering major, was honored with the Jack Peterson Student-Athlete Award.

And longtime Seawolves broadcaster Kurt Haider received the Brush Christiansen Trailblazer Award, which is named after the founder of Seawolves hockey and its head coach for the program's first 17 seasons.



Anchorage Daily News