Dozens of Alaska's artists awarded Rasmuson money

The Rasmuson Foundation has announced awards to 36 Alaska artists. Weaver Teri Rofkar of Sitka received the 2013 Distinguished Artist Award, which includes a grant of $40,000.

This is the 10th year of the foundation's Individual Artist Awards program, which this year provided grants of up to $7,500 to 25 artists. Ten Artist Fellowships, worth $18,000 each were also awarded.

The fellowship recipients are:

Maria Shell, textiles, Anchorage

Joan Kane, poetry, Anchorage

Clarissa Rizal, craft work, Douglas

Erin Hollowell, poetry, Homer

Sharon Kay, craft work, Anchorage

Arlitia Jones, scripts, Anchorage

Becky Kendall, modern/contemporary choreography, Anchorage

Norman Jackson, visual arts, Ketchikan

Annie Duffy, fiber crafts, Fairbanks

Ahna Iredale, ceramics, Homer

Twenty-five project grants of $7,500 each were awarded to:

Anna Lynch, folk music composition, Anchorage

Christine Byl, creative nonfiction, Healy

Deborah Schildt, media arts, Anchorage

Alice Bassler Sullivan, modern/contemporary choreography, Chugiak

Nathan Shafer, multidiscipline/new genre, Anchorage

Constance Baltuck, painting, Juneau

Karl Pasch, instrumental performance, Anchorage

Christy NaMee Eriksen, spoken word, Juneau

Lucian Childs, fiction, Anchorage

Vaughn Eide, craft work, Ward Cove

Christofer Tayler, combined/multiple, Juneau

Sara Tabbert, combined, multiple, Fairbanks

Etsuko Kimura Pederson, classical music composition, Fairbanks

Linda Infante Lyons, painting, Anchorage

Holly Nordlum, printmaking, Anchorage

Joan Nickels Wilson, creative non-fiction, Anchorage

George Overpeck, wood crafts, Homer

Ricky Tagaban, craft work, Anchorage

Keeley Boyle, folk music composition, Soldotna

Charles Renfro, photography, Anchorage

Leighan Falley, painting, Talkeetna

Kathie Cook, fiber/textiles, North Pole

Kendra Nichols-Takak, media arts, Nome

John Whittier, media arts, Homer

Merry Ellefson, screenplay, Juneau

Anchorage Daily News