East leads the Cook Inlet Conference's four qualifiers to next week's state prep softball tournament

prep softball

State qualifiers set

East advanced to Friday's championship game in the Cook Inlet Conference softball tournament with Wednesday night's 8-1 win over Chugiak, and all four of the conference's qualifiers to next week's state tournament have been decided.

East, Chugiak, West and South will represent the CIC.

East is the only undefeated team left in the double-elimination tournament after Sydney Smith struck out 10 in six innings Wednesday, when she limited Chugiak to just one hit at Albrecht Fields. Morgan Hill sparked the Thunderbirds' offense, going 4 for 4 and driving in two runs.

Chugiak dropped into the loser's bracket, where it awaits the winner of Thursday's West-South game at 6 p.m. and will play that winner Thursday at 7:45 p.m. The winner of that late game will advance to play East in the championship.

West remained alive Wednesday with a Pauline Tufi-powered 10-1 victory over Bartlett in five innings.

Tufi homered, tripled, drove in four runs, scored two runs and pitched the Eagles to the win. She stuck out 10, surrendering just two hits and one unearned run. Jaimie Bingham went 3 for 3 for West and scored twice, Mikayla Teel went 2 for 3, drove in two runs and scored two runs, and Lauren Syrup went 2 for 3.

South to play West by virtue of its 9-1 win over Dimond in five innings.

Rachel White struck out eight and walked just one for South, and she also went 2 for 4 with a run scored and an RBI. South's Rachel Fowkes went 2 for 2, scored a run, drove in a run and doubled.

Dimond's Mackenzie French tripled and scored her team's only run.


Logo updated

UAA has unveiled a new logo for its signature event, the Carrs/Safeway Great Alaska Shootout basketball tournament.

The logo, designed by The Nerland Agency in the shape of a shield, blends an old-school look of block lettering with the modern touch of a basketball rising over snow-capped mountains.

The 36th annual Thanksgiving week tournament, which again features a four-team women's field and an eight-team men's field, is set for Nov. 26-30 at Sullivan Arena.

The men's field: UAA, Denver, Green Bay, Harvard, Indiana State, Pepperdine, Texas Christian and Tulsa. The women's field: UAA, Georgetown, Nicholls State and California-Riverside.

Anchorage Daily News