State champs to be crowned in baseball and softball this week

It's time to determine state champions in high school baseball and softball.

The state baseball tournament starts Thursday at Mulcahy Stadium, with the state softball championships starting Friday at Cartee Fields. Both tournaments conclude Saturday.

Service and South will represent the Cook Inlet Conference in the baseball tournament, Service being the conference's top seed. Second-seeded South will get help from the powerful arm and bat of CIC most valuable player Max Karnos.

The 6-foot-4 Karnos struck out 35 batters in 20 innings on his way to a 0.33 ERA and a 1-1 record and hit .429 with six doubles, two triples and 11 RBIs in 10 games.

The large-school softball tournament includes four Anchorage teams. Undefeated East, led by the stellar pitching of CIC player of the year Sydney Smith, is the top CIC seed. West is the second seed, with Chugiak third and South fourth.

Though she proved capable of hitting home runs this season, East's Smith is known more for tossing complete game after complete game in helping the Thunderbirds accumulate an 11-0 league record en route to a CIC softball championship.

All CIC baseball team

Don Rabung MVP -- Max Karnos, South

Big Stick -- Chase Wilson, Chugiak

Gold Glove -- David Fuller, Eagle River

First team

Starting pitchers -- Max Karnos, South; Dalton Ganter-Chapman, West; Ryan Caron, Service; David Fuller, Eagle River. Relief pitchers -- Brad Butcher, South; Matt Yandell, Service. Catcher -- Chase Wilson, Chugiak. First base -- Michael Rosenberg, Eagle River. Second base -- Jordan Clevenger, Dimond. Shortstop -- Deven Ferris, Chugiak. Third base -- Colby LeBlanc, Eagle River; Logan Williams, Bartlett. Outfield -- Kai Fugere, Chugiak; Matt Ilalio, Service; Ryan Caron, Service; Zach Schmidt, Bartlett. Utility -- Zachary Brueggemann, Chugiak; Ted Kelly, West; Alec Valdez, South. Designated hitter -- Jose Ovalles, West.

Second team

Starting pitchers -- Wesley Bennice, Eagle River; Jordan Clevenger, Dimond; Grant Remmer, Dimond; Johnny Meszaros, Service. Relief pitchers -- Matthew Schnellbaecher, East; Zach Schmidt, Bartlett. Catchers -- R.J. Dirscherl, Eagle River; First base -- Sheldon Rouzan, Dimond; Second base -- Austin Dabbs, East; Nick Jensen, South; Shortstop -- David Fuller, Eagle River; Jake Ridley, Service; Third base -- Matthew Schnellbaecher, East; Outfield -- Kyle Frost, Eagle River; Mac Evans, West; Spencer Floyd, South; Utility -- Mason Anderson, Dimond; Matthew Schnellbaecher, East.

Honorable mention

Relief pitchers -- Noah Lyford, West; Karson Frisk, Service. Catchers -- Ryan Bailey, Service; Ted Kelly, West. First base -- Dalton Ganter-Chapman; Connor Duff, Service; Max Karnos, South. Second base -- Josh Fetko, Service. Shortstop -- Brad Butcher, South; Jacob Hilowitz, West; Payton Lauwers, Dimond. Third base -- Grant Remmer, Dimond. Outfield -- Eddie Lewis, South; Justin Tapey, East; Brandon Sakumoto, Dimond; Michael Shuler, Service. Utility -- Sean Breslin, Bartlett. Designated hitter -- Nick Lopetrone, South.

All CIC softball team

Coach of the year -- Paul Schoenborn, East

Player of the year -- Sydney Smith, East

First team -- Morgan Hill, East; Taria Page, East; Gabby Meyerson, East; Leilani Blair, East; Carly Metcalf, Chugiak; Katy Bakker, Chugiak; Rachel Gregg, Chugiak; Pauline Tufi, West; Jamie Bingham, West; Nikki Olsen, West; Rachel Eytalis, South; Rachel Fowkes, South; Heather Breslin, Bartlett; Samantha McFadden, Bartlett; Tara Thompson, Dimond; Sarah Peyton, Eagle River; Keaira Calderara, Service.

Honorable mention -- Sierra Rosenzweig, East; Vaa Pedro, East; Alexis Joubert, East; Carrie Sauerbay, East; Kenzie Matthis, Chugiak; Claire Bond, Chugiak; Elle Gray, Chugiak; Devonne Troutman, West; Mikayla Teel, West; Erin Goudreau, West; Rachel White, South; Dakota Underwood, South; Jacynne Augafa, Bartlett; Valerie Sao, Bartlett; Madison Richards, Dimond; Cara Mitchell, Eagle River; Courtney La Pointe, Service.

State high school baseball tournament

Thursday's first-round pairings

At Mulcahy Stadium

10 a.m. -- Ketchikan vs. Kodiak

1 p.m. -- Colony vs. Juneau

4 p.m. -- Lathrop vs. South

7 p.m. -- Service vs. West Valley

State high school softball tournament

Friday's first-round pairings

At Cartee Fields

Large schools

11 a.m. -- West vs. West Valley; Juneau vs. Chugiak

1 p.m. -- Colony vs. East; Lathrop vs. South

Small schools

11 a.m. -- Hutchison vs. Ketchikan; Sitka vs. Kodiak

Anchorage Daily News