AD Main Menu

Aces open with Oct. 18-19 home series

Beth Bragg

The Alaska Aces open the season less than four months from now with a pair of hockey games at Sullivan Arena against the San Francisco Bulls.

The Oct. 18-19 series will mark the start of Alaska's 10th season in the ECHL, in which they are the reigning Brabham Cup regular-season champions.

The team announced its 72-game schedule Wednesday, an offering that includes a chance to ring in the New Year with the Reign, no games against Eastern Conference teams and two eight-game road trips, including one that keeps the Aces out of Sullivan for a month.

The Aces will play 36 of their regular-season games at home. Of those, 31 will be played on Friday, Saturday or Sunday.

For the seventh season in a row, Aces fans can spend New Year's Eve at Sullivan Arena. The Aces play the Ontario Reign that night, a Tuesday.

The New Year's Eve game is part of an eight-game homestand that runs from Dec. 18 to Jan. 4. That stretch ends a month-long period -- Nov. 18 to Dec. 18 -- when the Aces don't play at home. They play eight games on the road in that span.

Alaska's other eight-game road trip comes near the end of the season, when it plays 11 of its final 14 games on the road, including the last three in Colorado.

The Aces are on the road for eight games from March 18-30, return for an April 4-6 three-game home finale against San Francisco and wrap up the season April 9-12 with three games in Colorado.

The biggest scheduling change is the absence of Eastern Conference opponents. Alaska faces Western Conference teams only in the regular season -- Ontario, San Francisco, Stockton, Bakersfield, Utah, Las Vegas, Idaho and Colorado.

The Aces will see Las Vegas and San Francisco the most (12 times apiece) and Stockton and Utah the least (six times apiece).

Alaska doesn't face the Stockton Thunder -- the team that eliminated the Aces in Game 6 of last season's Western Conference semifinals -- until Feb. 7-9 in Anchorage.

For information on season tickets, call the Aces at 258-ACES.

 

Reach Beth Bragg at bbragg@adn.com or 257-4335.

 

Alaska Aces 2013-14 schedule

1. Fri, Oct. 18 vs. San Francisco

2. Sat, Oct. 19 vs. San Francisco

3. Fri, Oct. 25 @ Las Vegas

4. Sat, Oct. 26 @ Las Vegas

5. Sun, Oct. 27 @ Las Vegas

6. Fri, Nov. 1 vs. Bakersfield

7. Sat, Nov. 2 vs. Bakersfield

8. Sun, Nov. 3 vs. Bakersfield

9. Wed, Nov. 6 @ Idaho

10. Fri, Nov. 8 @ Idaho

11. Sat, Nov. 9 @ Idaho

12. Fri, Nov. 15 vs. Las Vegas

13. Sat, Nov. 16 vs. Las Vegas

14. Sun, Nov. 17 vs. Las Vegas

15. Wed, Nov. 27 @Colorado

16. Fri, Nov. 29 @ Colorado

17. Wed, Dec. 4 @ Utah

18. Fri, Dec. 6 @ Utah

19. Sat, Dec. 7 @ Utah

20. Wed, Dec. 11 @ Idaho

21. Fri, Dec. 13 @ Idaho

22. Sat, Dec. 14 @ Idaho

23. Wed, Dec. 18 vs. Utah

24. Fri, Dec. 20 vs. Utah

25. Sat, Dec. 21 vs. Utah

26. Fri, Dec. 27 vs. Ontario

27. Sat, Dec. 28 vs. Ontario

28. Tue, Dec. 31 vs. Ontario

29. Fri, Jan. 3 vs. Idaho

30. Sat, Jan. 4 vs. Idaho

31. Thur, Jan. 9 @ San Francisco

32. Fri, Jan. 10 @ San Francisco

33. Sat, Jan. 11 @ San Francisco

34. Wed, Jan. 15 vs. Las Vegas

35. Fri, Jan. 17 vs. Las Vegas

36. Sat, Jan. 18 vs. Las Vegas

37. Fri, Jan. 24 @ Colorado

38. Sat, Jan. 25 @ Colorado

39. Wed, Jan. 29 vs. Idaho

40. Fri, Jan. 31 vs. Idaho

41. Sat, Feb. 1 vs. Idaho

42. Fri, Feb. 7 vs. Stockton

43. Sat, Feb. 8 vs. Stockton

44. Sun, Feb. 9 vs. Stockton

45. Sat, Feb. 15 @ Ontario

46. Sun, Feb. 16 @ Ontario

47. Mon, Feb. 17 @ Bakersfield

48. Wed, Feb. 19 vs. Ontario

49. Fri, Feb. 21 vs. Ontario

50. Sat, Feb. 22 vs. Ontario

51. Fri, Feb. 28 @ San Francisco

52. Sat, Mar. 1 @ San Francisco

53. Sun, Mar. 2 @ Stockton

54. Fri, Mar. 7 vs. Bakersfield

55. Sat, Mar. 8 vs. Bakersfield

56. Sun, Mar. 9 vs. Bakersfield

57. Fri, Mar. 14 vs. Colorado

58. Sat, Mar. 15 vs. Colorado

59. Wed, Mar. 19 @ San Francisco

60. Fri, Mar. 21 @ San Francisco

61. Sat, Mar. 22 @ Stockton

62. Sun, Mar. 23 @ Stockton

63. Tue, Mar. 25 @ Bakersfield

64. Fri, Mar. 28 @ Las Vegas

65. Sat, Mar. 29 @ Las Vegas

66. Sun, Mar. 30 @ Las Vegas

67. Fri, Apr. 4 vs. San Francisco

68. Sat, Apr. 5 vs. San Francisco

69. Sun, Apr. 6 vs. San Francisco

70. Wed, Apr. 9 @ Colorado

71. Fri, Apr. 11 @ Colorado

72. Sat, Apr. 12 @ Colorado

 

 

 


By BETH BRAGG
bbragg@adn.com
Contact Beth Bragg at bbragg@adn.com or on