Aces qualify eight players with contract offers

Doyle Woody,Adn Staff

Just noting some paperwork today -- the Alaska Aces have made qualifying contract offers to eight players, the maximum allowed under ECHL rules.

The eight: defensemen Dustin Molle, Corey Syvret and William Wrenn; and forwards Zach Harrison, Tommy Mele, Garry Nunn, Andy Taranto and Evan Trupp.

The offers stand for a month, and means those players cannot be traded in that span. If any of them are unsigned by Aug. 1, they become free agents.

Any player that already has signed a contract for 2013-14 does not need to receive a qualifying offer.

What's it all mean? Well, that the Aces would be cool with all the qualified players returning for next season. Still, lot of offseason left, and guys have to make decisions whether they want to return to the Aces, find employment elsewhere, etc.

The Aces usually in July begin slowly announcing the players they have signed. They release the info one, or two, maybe three players at a time to get some press throughout the offseason.