AD Main Menu

UAF wins its tournament in a shootout (and UAA's Bailey makes all-tourney team)

Doyle Woody,Adn Staff

UAF won its Brice Alaska Goal Rush for the second straight time and fourth time in the tournament's six years by capturing the shootout 1-0 tonight after it tied Western Michigan 3-3 through overtime.

Defenseman Colton Parayko roofed a wrister in the third round of the shootout, and Nanooks rookie goaltender Davis Jones stopped all three Broncos shooters.

Jones stopped 54 of 59 shots on the weekend to make the all-tournament team. He backstopped a 3-2 overtime win against Denver on Friday.

Cody Kunyk of UAF was named Most Valuable Player. He had a goal Friday, a goal and a helper Saturday, and fired 14 shots in two games.

UAA center Matt Bailey, whose game-winning strike gave the Seawolves a 3-2 OT win against Denver earlier today, also made the all-tournament team. He scored three goals in two games.

Also making the all-tourney team for UAF was forward Garrick Perry, who scored the game winner Friday and also had an assist, and had an assist Saturday.

UAF is 2-1-1.

Making the all-tournament team from Western Michigan were goalie Frank Slubowski (stopped 53 of 58 shots in two games), and forwards Shane Berschbach (3-1--4 totals in two games) and Colton Hargrove (2-1--3 totals in two games).