Elliott, McGregor top Alaska's All-State football team

West High's Leroy Elliott and Wasilla High's Cash McGregor earned Alaska's top individual football honors this season, with Elliott being named offensive player of the year and McGregor receiving the award for defensive player of the year.

Elliott's 843 receiving yards led the Cook Inlet Conference and his many highlights included a clutch 37-yard touchdown run that helped West close out its second large-school state championship in four years last weekend with a 28-16 win over Service.

McGregor's biggest performance came in the first week of the season, when he bagged five interceptions in a 24-14 win over West.

West coach Tim Davis was named coach of the year, after helping the Eagles overcome an 0-2 start and ride a nine-game winning streak to a state title.

Picks were made by the state's large-school coaches.

All-state football team

Offensive player of the year: Leroy Elliott, West

Defensive player of the year: Cash McGregor, Wasilla

Lineman of the year: Kenny Pegues, Chugiak

Utility player of the year: Leroy Elliott, West

Coach of the year: Tim Davis, West

Assistant coach of the year: Luke Balash, Lathrop


Quarterbacks -- First team: Bryce Niver, Colony; C.J. Toomer, Service; Second team: Charles Suddoth, West Valley; Tyrone Davis, West.

Running backs -- First team: James Nisbett, Palmer; Chris Seminario, Lathrop; Gabe Mingledorff, Chugiak; Lui Faamasino, West. Second team: Devin Otto, Wasilla; Fischer Summers, Colony; Edress Irving, Bartlett; Ed Hall, Eagle River; Justice Augafa, South.

Receivers -- First team: Daniel Bilafer, Colony; Cash McGregor, Wasilla; Leroy Elliott, West; Marquez Buster, Dimond. Second team: Derek O'Neal, Lathrop; Dv'nn Cooks, West Valley; Isaiah Dawkins, Wasilla; Nashon Fromm, Service; Armend Aliju, Service.

Tight end -- First team: Alan Devoe, South; Second team: Terrell Ford, Lathrop.

Center -- First team: Charlie Pappas, Chugiak; Adam Christiansen, Palmer. Second team -- Ian Mackenzie, Colony; Rhoddie West, West Valley.

Guard -- First team: Kenny Pegues, Chugiak; Tevita Fehoko, West. Second team -- Tobbie Zook, Colony; Caleb Deemer, Palmer; Logan Dille, Lathrop.

Tackle -- First team -- Chris Feero, West; Tarini Tosi, East; John Widmar, South; Nick Benshetler, Palmer. Second team -- Zackary Wall, West Valley; Charming Launiuvao, Dimond; Jake Brownlee, Chugiak; Hekili Fomai, Service.


Defensive line -- First team: D.J. Mutini, Colony; Brian Thompson, Palmer; Archie Lemana, Bartlett; Kenny Pegues, Chugiak; Isaiah Pili, Dimond; P. J. Seui, West. Second team -- Noah Spencer, Colony; Jeremiah Webb, Lathrop; Jacob Vinton, West Valley; Trusty Sigmon, West Valley; Quace Wright, Wasilla; Isaac Terry, East; Mervin Taha, South.

Linebackers -- First team: Ben Aumavae, Palmer; J.J. Tito, Bartlett; J.J. Tanuvasa, Dimond; Tevita Dave Tuilimu, West; Levi Hansen, Service. Second team -- Marcus Brown, Lathrop; Ihro Raguindin, Service; Riley Fredrickson, Colony; Miles Cullenberg, Colony; Cody Well, Palmer; Sam Cook, South.

Defensive backs -- First team: Cash McGregor, Wasilla; Marquise Rayford, West; Alec Valdez, South. Second team -- Vincent Aumavae, Palmer; Nathan Barnett, Lathrop; Nyeem Johnson, Service.

Kickers -- First team: Daniel Bilafer, Colony; Second team: Eyob Imlach, South.

Punters -- First team: Yann Andrew, East. Second team: Fischer Summers, Colony.

Kick returners -- First team: Chris Seminario, Lathrop. Second team: Gabe Mingledorff, Chugiak.

Long snappers -- First team: Tanner Hongslo, Wasilla; Rhys Sands, Service.


Anchorage Daily News