Bailey is only current UAA skater to deliver at OT dagger

Doyle Woody,Adn Staff

Got to thinking about senior Matt Bailey's overtime strike in UAA's last game, a 3-2 win over Denver in Fairbanks two weeks ago, and wondered which other players in Bailey's tenure as a Seawolf have scored OT goals.

Well, the victory over the Pioneers marked the fifth time UAA has won an overtime game in Bailey's career -- the Seawolves are 5-4-12 in extra time in the last three-plus seasons.

The Seawolves didn't win at OT game last season, going 0-3-7 in extra time.

Two seasons ago, 2011-12, the Seawolves went 2-0-2 in OT, getting game winners from Eric Scheid at St. Cloud State and Mickey Spencer against St. Cloud State in UAA's Kendall Hockey Classic.

And three seasons ago, 2010-11, UAA went 2-1-3 in OT -- Mitch Bruijsten's strike beat St. Cloud at Tommy Grant's dagger felled host Colorado College.

Scheid, you might recall, left the program after his freshman season to return to juniors and currently plays at Penn State. Spencer left the program at the holiday break in 2011-12 and is retired. Grant currently plays for ECHL Idaho. And Bruijsten was booted off the team just before the playoffs two seasons ago for academic indifference.

Worth mentioning that current UAA senior winger Jordan Kwas has assisted on three OT winners in his Seawolves career. Junior winger Brett Cameron and junior winger Scott Allen each have an OT helper. And freshman winger Dylan Hubbs assisted on Bailey's winner against Denver.