Anchorage teacher among educators honored by White House

Michelle Theriault Boots

An Anchorage educator has been recognized by the White House.

Amy Laufer, a former ASD kindergarten teacher and current instructional specialist, is one of two Alaska winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the district announced Tuesday.

The award recognizes 102 math and science teachers nationwide.

The other Alaska winner is Rebecca Himschoot, a Sitka science teacher.

Laufer has been an educator for more than 30 years and has spent the last 12 years in the Anchorage School District, with many of those years as a kindergarten teacher at Kasuun Elementary.

A biography from the National Science Foundation, which administers the award, describes Laufer as a district leader who serves as an advisor on math curriculum.

Award recipients receive $10,000 and a trip to Washington D.C. for an awards ceremony and celebration.

Reach Michelle Theriault Boots at or 257-4344.