Colony wrestlers take crown at Vandergaw tournament

Bryce Adams and Wade Booth captured individual titles Saturday to highlight Colony's team triumph in the Glenn Vandergaw wrestling tournament at Dimond High.

The Knights amassed 125.5 points to top a tough field. Wasilla claimed second place with 114.5 points and South was third with 111. The top five teams were separated by less than 25 points.

A pair of wrestlers for fourth-place Lathrop were named the meet's most outstanding wrestlers. Andrew Hendrix, the 120-pound champ, won the award for the lower weight classes and Joe Dickinson, the 160-pound champ, won the award for the higher weight classes.

Glenn Vandergaw wrestling tournament
Dimond High

1) Colony 125.5, 2) Wasilla 114.5, 3) South 111, 4) Lathrop 104, 5) East 101, 6) Kodiak 87.5, 7) Kenai 83.5, 8) Service 77.5, 9) West 73, 10) Eagle River 65, 11) Palmer 60.5, 12 Chugiak 52.5, 13) North Pole 252, 14) Ketchikan 236, 15) Bartlett 29, 16) West Valley 25, 17) Dimond 24.5.

Championship matches

98 -- Bryce Adams (Colony) pinned Scott Harris (Dimond), 4:46. 106 -- Greg Shack (South) t.f. Brandon Abbott (Wasilla), 20-3. 113 -- Joel Valdez (Kodiak) dec. Chace Booth (Colony), 8-3. 120 -- Andrew Hendrix (Lathrop) dec. Brennan Girard (East), 9-7. 126 -- Paul Steffensen (Kenai) dec. Gavin Alvarado (South), 3-1. 132 -- Joshua Malnoske (East) dec. Rami Pellumbi (South), 5-3. 138 -- Gavin Arnold (Eagle River) dec. Robert Haan (Colony), 7-0. 145 -- Ethan Schumaker (North Pole) pinned Nick Ottum (South), 5:05. 152 -- Wade Booth (Colony) won by forfeit over Robert Huffer (Chugiak). 160 -- Joe Dickinson (Lathrop) dec. Cesar Guzman (East), 6-2. 170 -- Chance Boatman (Wasilla) pinned Xavier Horton (Eagle River), 4:00. 182 --Jacob Wharton (Lathrop) dec. Leroy Elliot (West), 7-6. 195 -- Caleb Deemer (Palmer) pinned Ed Hall (Eagle River), 5:20. 220 -- Quace Wright (Wasilla) dec. Zech Rockstad (Wasilla), 3-2 (UTB). 285 -- Leo Sega (Kodiak) dec. Nicholas Stevens (Service), 2-1.

Third-place matches

98 -- Val Shuman (West) pinned Andrew Laliberte (Palmer), 4:42. 106 -- Wyley Spencer (Lathrop) dec. Quest Lema (Service), 2-0. 113 -- Slava Hoffman (Service) dec. Weston Martin (South), 8-6. 120 -- Andrew Caballa (Kodiak) m.d. Noah Ottum (South), 11-3. 126 -- Aaron Molesky (Palmer) won by forfeit over Jordan Nero (Colony). 132 -- Dawson Nash (Colony) dec. Dew Rogers (North Pole), 5-4. 138 -- Conal Eager (Lathrop) m.d. Trevor Cole (East), 16-2. 145 -- Cameron Eide (North Pole) dec. Joe Fricilone (West Valley), 9-3. 152 -- Chardo Elliot (West) dec. Blake Marks (Wasilla), 8-2) 160 -- Tyler Thammavongsa (Service) t.f. Dylan Carter (Kenai), 16-0. 170 -- Davon Wake (Ketchikan) won by forfeit over Emetrius McLeod (Service). 182 -- Nate Fousel (Ketchikan) s.v. Keahi Queja (East), 10-8. 195 -- Tyler Brown (Kenai) pinned Brett Ferris (West Valley), 1:32. 220 -- Richard Burroughs (Chugiak) pinned Zach Koziczkowski (Kenai), 2:12. 285 -- Tevita Fehoko (West) pinned Wyatt Bruso (Bartlett), 2:36.

Dimond 50, Kenai 21

The Dimond Lynx opened with a 14-0 run that carried them to a 50-21 triumph over Kenai in a nonconference girls basketball game Saturday in Kenai.

The Lynx used a balanced attack that produced just one double-figure individual statistic -- Rohyn Huss' 11 points. Huss added seven rebounds, Tara Thompson contributed nine points and Justine Anderson grabbed nine rebounds.

Justice English led Kenai with five points and seven rebounds.

West 5, Eagle River 1

Paul Norris scored a hat trick Saturday to power West past Eagle River 5-1 in a Cook Inlet Conference hockey game Saturday at the McDonald Center.

Norris scored once in each period, and Alex Bardsley added a first-period goal and Austin Walker a third-period goal. The Eagles scored twice while shorthanded and once with the man advantage.

Eagle River avoided the upset by scoring the game's final goal, an unassisted shot by Wyatt Beebe.

Joe Chekan stopped 14 shots for West. For Eagle River, Justin Lopez stopped 12 shot before giving way to Jeffrey Hartmann, who stopped 18.



Papasodora lifts team to state title

Cathryn Papasodora fired a meet-high 585 Saturday to lead her Borealis Bulleyes team to the team victory at the three-position air rifle state championships at East High.

Papasodora and her teammates — Tristan Henderson, Marina Noble and Logan Hanscom — combined for a score of 2,285 to beat the runnerup Midnight Sun Sharpshooters of Fairbanks by six shots.

The meet drew high school shooters from Anchorage and Fairbanks. The winning team earned a spot in April’s regional championship in Layton, Utah.