Former Rep. Petersen running for E. Anchorage Assembly seat

Lisa Demer

Former state Rep. Pete Petersen filed Wednesday to run for Anchorage Assembly in the April 1 municipal election for the East Anchorage seat now held by Adam Trombley, according to the city clerk's office.

Elections for the 11-member Assembly are nonpartisan. Petersen ran as a Democrat for the state House, serving two terms before his defeat in 2012 in a newly drawn district that matched him up with Republican Rep. Lance Pruitt.

The filing deadline is Friday at 5 p.m.

Trombley hasn't yet filed, but four other incumbents have:

• Downtown's Patrick Flynn, who was unopposed as of Wednesday afternoon;

• Bill Starr for the Chugiak/Eagle River seat, who is being challenged by Sharon Gibbons;

• Tim Steele for the West Anchorage seat. He's being challenged by Phil Isley; and

• Elvi Gray-Jackson in Midtown, who also was unopposed as of Wednesday afternoon.

Pete Nolan has filed for the open South Anchorage seat, and Bill Evans has also come forward as candidate though he hadn't yet signed up officially through the municipal clerk's office. Incumbent Chris Birch can't run again after serving the maximum three consecutive terms in office.

Reach Lisa Demer at or 257-4390.

Contact Lisa Demer at or on