Pease, Tronstad ski to masters titles

Two athletes perhaps best known for their mountain-running exploits earned victories Thursday night in the opening nordic skiing race at the 2014 National Masters Championships.

Nancy Pease, who owns the women’s course records on both Mount Marathon and the Crow Pass Crossing, won the overall women’s title in the 10-kilometer classic race at Kincaid Park. She was clocked in 36 minutes, 45.2 seconds and demolished the field.

Pease finished 1:24 ahead of runner-up Shannon Brockman (38:24.3), which means Pease’s average time for each kilometer (.62 of a mile) was 10 seconds faster than any other competitor. Stacey Buckelew took third place in 41:31.4.

Trond Flagstad, a two-time winner at Mount Marathon and a former UAA ski coach, won the men’s overall title in 31:22.7. He was just ahead of Jan Buron (31:28.7), a well-known local ski coach who has developed some of the finest racers in the state. Peter Abraham earned third place in 31:45.8.


Anchorage Daily News