Harmanen 3rd for UAA in national championship giant slalom

Niko Harmanen accomplished something Wednesday that only three other UAA alpine skiers have done since 2003 -- reach the podium at the NCAA national championships.

Harmanen's third-place finish in giant slalom led UAA on the first day of the championships in Park City, Utah.

It marked Harmanen's first All-America finish and it was the 42nd All-America finish all-time for UAA alpine skiers.

In all, UAA boasts 139 All-American finishes dating back to 1979. All-America recognition goes to skiers who finish in the top 10 at the national meet.

Harmanen, a junior from Finland, recorded the second-fastest run of the day, 57.71 seconds, and had a two-run total of just more than two minutes.

Nordic events start Thursday with the women's 5-kilometer and men's 10-K classic races. The Seawolves were in sixth place in the team standings with 62 points following Wednesday's events.

cross country skiing

Bassett, O'Harra reach podium

Jake Bassett and Thomas O'Harra were Alaska's top finishers in the 1.4-kilometer classic sprint race Wednesday at the Junior National Cross-Country Ski Championships in Vermont.

Bassett finished second in 3 minutes, 15.18 seconds in the U-18 race followed by O'Harra in third with a time of 3:16.34.

Other finalists from Team Alaska included Benjamin Koenig (fourth place) and Tracen Knopp (sixth) in the boys U-16 race.

Competition continues Friday with a mass-start skate race.

indoor track

19 Seawolves receive all-region honors

Karolin Anders and Ivy O'Guinn racked up four all-region honors to lead a UAA indoor track and field team that featured 19 award winners.

Anders, a sophomore, earned honors in pentathlon, high jump, long jump and triple jump. O'Guinn, a senior, claimed awards in the mile, 800, 3,000 and distance medley relay.

Anders and O'Guinn are two of seven Seawolves who qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships, which will be held March 14-15 in North Carolina.

Joining O'Guinn are her distance medley relay teammates Susan Bick, Haleigh Lloyd and Jessica Pahkala. Anders qualified in pentathlon and high jump. Other double qualifiers include Joyce Kipchumba and Micah Chelimo, who will both compete in the 3,000 and 5,000.

All-region indoor track and field honorees

Karolin Anders (pentathlon, high jump, long jump, triple jump); Ivy O'Guinn (800m, mile, 3,000m, distance medley relay); Micah Chelimo (3-K, 5,000m, DMR); Adam Commandeur (400 meters, 4x400 relay, DMR); Ethan Hewitt (400m, 4x400, DMR); Dylan Anthony (3-K, 5-K); Isaac Kangogo (mile, DMR); Victor Samoei (3-K, 5-K); Jamie Ashcroft (60m, 200m); Joyce Kipchumba (3-K, 5-K); Elliott Bauer (4x400); Bobo Camara (4x400); Jesse Miller (800m); Kevin Rooke (3-K); Cody Thomas (heptathlon); Susan Bick (DMR); Haleigh Lloyd (DMR); Jessica Pahkala (DMR); Rosie Smith (60-meter hurdles).

Anchorage Daily News