Murphy rides to fat-tire win

Riding on a course covered with fresh snow, Kevin Murphy and Laurel Brady took home titles in the 60-mile Talkeetna Trio/Mike Sterling Memorial fat-tire bike race Saturday in Talkeetna. 

Murphy finished in 6 hours, 35 minutes to beat Nicolas Baudin by more than seven minutes. Brady, the only woman racing 60 miles, finished in 8:50.

 Rob Cushman and Heather Best took the 40-mile titles and Justin Libby and Sara Sayre won the 20-mile races.

Two feet of snow feel three days before the race, making for challenging conditions. “We couldn’t have hoped for better conditions, all things considered,” race organizer Greg Matyas said.


Anchorage Daily News