AD Main Menu

Alaska sports digest: March 20


UAA bags GNAC honors

UAA athletes and their award-winning coach cleaned up Thursday when the Great Northwest Athletic Conference announced its major awards for indoor track and field -- the Seawolves claimed four of the eight honors given.

Sophomore multi-event athlete Karolin Anders won the Female Athlete of the Year award, senior distance dynamo Micah Chelimo won the Male Athlete of the Year award for the second straight time, junior distance runner Joyce Kipchumba was honored as Female Newcomer of the Year and coach Michael Friess was named Coach of the Year for women's teams.

Friess has collected 28 various Coach of the Year awards in his career.

Anders finished fourth in the pentathlon in the recent NCAA Division II national championships after winning the pentathlon at the GNAC meet, where she also won the triple jump, finished second in the high jump, third in the long jump and eighth in the shot put.

Chelimo at the NCAAs won the 3,000 meters and finished second in the 5,000. He swept those events at the GNAC meet, where he was also third in the mile. Chelimo has won three national titles at UAA.

Kipchumba, a transfer, finished sixth at nationals in both the 3,000 and 5,000 after winning those events at the GNAC meet.


Jordan wins D-III title

Former two-time state high school diving champion Renee Jordan of Anchorage on Thursday added a college national championship to her resume.

Jordan, a senior competing for Macalester College of St. Paul, Minn., won the NCAA Division III women's one-meter title in Indianapolis.

Jordan scored 468.90 points to top sophomore Maria Zarka of Kenyon by nearly six points.

Jordan won her two state championships for East High and graduated from Stellar Secondary. She's studying chemistry at Macalester.


Smith rules

Cory Smith covered the longest and most difficult course -- 6.8 kilometers, 16 controls -- in short order Wednesday night to claim victory in a ski orienteering meet on the Hillside.

Smith's time of 34 minutes, 20 seconds, put him well ahead of runner-up Gary Snyder.

Long Ski-O, 6.8k, 16 controls

Men -- 1) Cory Smith, 34:20; 2) Gary Snyder, 42:54; 3) Andrew Lee, 47:23; 4) Chris Clark, 53:00; 5) Tom Bronga, 53:14; 6) Regan Sarvas, 54:10; 7) Ben Stedman, 1:09:00.

Team -- 1) Allie Phillips, Kalen Ramey, 1:04:35; 2) Gunnar Knapp, Elizabeth Knapp, 1:11:17; 3) Karen Bronga, Rosalyn Singleton, 1:24:50; 4) Meghan Holtan, Rachel Samuelson, 1:25:50.

Short Ski-O, 4.7K, 10 controls

Men -- 1) Bill Johnson, 44:20.

Team -- 1) Joyce Goodell, Kathy Farynairz, Linda Cresap, 1:08:00.

Ski-O, 1.4K, 7 controls

Team -- 1) Andrew and Art Harmon, 23:52; 2) Heidi and Amy Schumacher, 27:45; 3) Hatcher Smith, Vebjorn Flagstad and Linda Smith, 31:00; 4) Quetzal and Scott Hauser, 42:00; 5) Rosie, Grace, Patrick and Heidi Conway, 46:30; 6) Annabel and Benji Uffenbeck, 0:59:00; 7) Talia Smith, Kevin, Darby and Erika Downs, Niva and Lindsey Flagstad, 1:05:00; 8) Orion and Erica Jensen, no time reported.

Anchorage Daily News