UAF hands out its annual awards

Doyle Woody,Adn Staff

UAF held its annual awards banquet tonight, and you no doubt will be shocked to learn senior center and leading scorer Cody Kunyk -- he's currently hanging with the Tampa Bay Lightning on an NHL deal, though he hasn't played yet -- was named the winner of the Steve Moria Most Valuable Player Award. After all, he was the WCHA Player of the Year.

Kunyk also won the Keith Street Top Performer Award.

The other honors:

*Sophomore defenseman Colton Parayko, Shawn Chambers Top Defenseman Award, Top Playoff Performer Award and Fan's Choice Award.

*Senior winger Colton Beck (currently with the AHL St. John's IceCaps), Ricky Pitta Most Dedicated Player Award and Pump House Team Player Award.

*Freshman winger Marcus Basara, Doug Desorcie Top Freshman Award.

*Junior winger Garrick Perry, Dean Fedorchuk Most Improved Award.

*Senior defenseman Michael Quinn, Don Jamieson Unsung Hero Award.

*Junior goaltender Sean Cahill, Dirk Anderson Scholar-Athlete Award.

*Sophomore forward Matthew Friese, Ryan Reinheller Humanitarian Award.