South Carolina's Jakaitis ECHL Goaltender of the Year

Doyle Woody,Adn Staff

Not surprisingly -- after all, he was first-team All-ECHL -- South Carolina's Jeff Jakaitis today was named ECHL Goaltender of the Year in voting by league coaches, media, media relations directors and broadcasters. Jakaitis also won the award in 2012 for Gwinnett.

That's two straight Goaltender of the Year awards for the Stingrays -- Ryan Zapolski won it last year. That's also three such awards in the last five seasons -- Todd Ford won the honor for South Carolina in 2010.

Former Alaska Aces goaltender Laurent Brossoit, who killed it for Bakersfield as a rookie this season and tied a league record with eight shutouts, finished second in voting.

Jakaitis went 24-12-3 with a 2.16 goals-against average, .924 save percentage and three shutouts.