Where basketball has taken Alaska's best

Reece Robinson, Alaska's Class 4A Player of the Year, is headed to Fairbanks to play basketball for UAF next season. Scooter Bynum, the Class 3A Player of the Year, is pursuing baseball instead of basketball and will attend Arizona Western.

Here's a look at past Players of the Year in boys basketball and where they went to college. The list is based on Daily News archives and online searches:

Class 4A

Year Name School College

2014 Reece Robinson Service UAF

2013 Adam Klie Service UC-San Diego

2012 Connor Devine Wasilla South Dakota State

2011 Devon Bookert West Florida State

2010 Travis Thompson Dimond UAA

2009 Colton Lauwers Dimond Adams State/UAA

2008 Kevin Winford Bartlett Eastern Washington

2007 Jesse Bean Wasilla Peninsula Coll./Dakota St.

2006 Ramon Harris West Kentucky

2005 Mario Chalmers Bartlett Kansas

2004 Mario Chalmers Bartlett Kansas

2003 Mario Chalmers Bartlett Kansas

2002 Andrew Smith Bartlett UAF

2001 Nick Billings Kodiak Binghamton

2000 Brandon Edwards East Not available

1999 Carlos Boozer Juneau Duke

1998 Carlos Boozer Juneau Duke

1997 Eli Wilson Colony UAA

1996 Cameron Rigby Bartlett Bradley/San Diego

1995 Mao Tosi East Butler CC/Idaho

1994 Trajan Langdon East Duke

1993 Trajan Langdon East Duke

1992 Trajan Langdon East Duke

1991 Jeff Lentfer Service Weber State

1990 Chris Toomer West Liberty

1989 Phil Engebretsen Homer Occidental College

1988 Pierre Newsome West Not available

1987 Mike Cronk Northway UAF

1986 Brian Petro Bartlett SW Texas State/Quinnipiac

1985 Mike Childs East UAA

1984 Tony Reed East Montana

1983 Tony Reed East Montana

1982 Ethan Billings Juneau Not available

1981 Larry McBride East Montana

Class 3A

Year Name School College

2014 Scooter Bynum Monroe Arizona Western (baseball)

2013 Gus Simmers ACS Palm Beach State

2012 Gus Simmers ACS Palm Beach State

2011 Christian Leckband Nome UAA

2010 Jeremy Head Nome Tex. A&M Int'l/W. Wyo. CC

2009 Leif Karlberg Grace Master's College

2008 Kyle Fossman Haines UAA

2007 Cameron Severson Petersburg Western Washington

2006 Lonnie Ridgeway Heritage UAA

2005 Jared Reando Heritage Multnoma University

2004 Carl Arts Valdez UAA

2003 Raymond Douville Craig Wenatchee Valley