Anchorage Pharmacist honored for Excellence in Innovation of pharmacy practice

Anchorage, Alaska, April 8, 2014 — The Alaska Pharmacists Association has selected Dr. Thaddus Wilkerson as the recipient of the 2014 Excellence in Innovation Award for outstanding advancement of pharmacy practice. Dr. Wilkerson was presented the award at the Annual Convention on Saturday, April 5th. This award is coordinated by the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations and sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc.

Dr. Wilkerson exemplifies the development of an innovative practice which has demonstrated a commitment to providing quality, cost effective care. He has saved direct costs in the pharmaceutical budget at ANMC and has also save an unknown amount in less direct/tangible healthcare costs including length of stay, readmission and complications due to prolonged exposure to central lines or unnecessary antimicrobials which may lead to increased adverse drug reactions. In addition to these efforts, Dr. Wilkerson routinely volunteers his time to lecture students at local universities, maintains and active involvement in several state and national groups and has volunteered on numerous medical mission or outreach events both in Alaska and across the globe. 

The NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes and honors a qualified pharmacist who has demonstrated significant innovation in his or her respective practice, method, or service directly or indirectly resulting in improved patient care and/or advancement of the profession of pharmacy. The award is presented annually by participating state pharmacist associations, including those in the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

“Upsher-Smith Laboratories is proud to sponsor the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations’ Excellence in Innovation Award that recognizes the vital role played by pharmacists in advancing patient care,” said Mark Evenstad, President and CEO, Upsher-Smith Laboratories. “We are pleased to honor the leaders and innovators in the pharmacy profession today, and look forward to a future working together to continue to help improve the lives of the people we serve.” 

"We are very excited to have Upsher-Smith continue this long tradition of recognizing pharmacists that are instrumental in improving patient care through innovation," said Rebecca Snead, EVP and CEO of NASPA. "The advancement of the profession of pharmacy only occurs through the dedicated effort of individual pharmacists and this award recognizes those efforts."

AK Pharmacists Assoc.